NDMC | topics | Hindustan Times
  • Tuesday, Jul 17, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 17, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind


topics Updated: May 24, 2016 16:54 IST

New Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) is one of the five civic bodies in the National Capital Territory of Delhi. The others are Cantonment Board, North Delhi Municipal Corporation, South Delhi Municipal Corporation and East Delhi Municipal Corporation. NDMC traces its roots to the Raisina Municipal Committee -- formed in 1916 --that was upgraded to a second-class municipality under the Punjab Municipal Act in 1925. In May 1994, the NDMC Act came into force, replacing the Punjab Act. At present, an 11-member body headed by a chairperson governs the NDMC. “Out of 10 members 5 are officials and 5 non-officials. Among non-officials, 3 members are members of the legislative assembly representing constituencies in the NDMC area, another 2 are drawn from amongst eminent personalities. The MP of New Delhi Parliamentary Constituency is a special invitee of the Council,” its website says.