By Khushi Pal
Published Feb 27, 2024

Hindustan Times
In Focus

Gaganyaan: Meet the 4 astronauts named by PM Narendra Modi for ISRO mission

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on February 27 unveiled the names of the four astronauts who will be part of ISRO's Gaganyaan mission, India's first human space flight mission.

PM Modi visited the Sarabhai Space Centre at Thumba near Thiruvananthapuram and bestowed 'astronaut wings' to the four astronauts who have been training for the mission.

Let's take a look at the four astronauts who have been selected for India's maiden human space flight mission.

Group Captain Prashanth Balakrishnan Nair

Group Captain Ajit Krishnan

Group Captain Angad Pratap

Wing Commander Subhanshu Shukla

ISRO's Gaganyaan mission is India's first manned space mission, aiming for a launch between 2024-2025

The mission aims to demonstrate indigenous capability to undertake human space flight missions to Low Earth Orbit. 

The mission's objective is to launch a manned crew into an orbit of 400 km for a three-day mission. The astronauts will be brought back safely to Earth by landing in Indian sea waters.