By Neha Yadav
Published Jun 09, 2024

Hindustan Times
In Focus

Photo Credits: ANI

Narendra Modi sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for historic third term

Narendra Modi was sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive term on June 9, 2024. 

President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Along with Narendra Modi, 72 Council of Ministers were sworn in. The new team includes 30 Cabinet ministers, 5 Ministers of State with Independent Charge, and 36 Ministers of State.

Narendra Modi is the first leader since former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru to be elected for a third consecutive term after completing the full tenure of each previous term.

BJP's Jyotiraditya Scindia, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, JP Nadda, Nitin Gadkari, Piyush Goyal among others were sworn in at the event today.

HD Kumaraswamy of JD(S) was the first leader from BJP's allies in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to take oath. Janata Dal (United) leader Lalan Singh, a close aide of Bihar CM Nitish Kumar also took oath.

Several leaders including President of Sri Lanka Rani Wickremesinghe, President of Maldives Mohamed Muizzu and Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina attended the event.

Over 8,000 guests, including various professionals and cultural performers, attended the swearing-in ceremony. More than 250 workers involved in the construction of Parliament also participated in the oath-taking ceremony.