By Neha Yadav
Published Dec 05, 2023

Hindustan Times
In Focus

Assembly elections 2023: Key candidates who lost

Here is a list of key candidates who lost in the assembly elections held across Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Telangana.

Madhya Pradesh

Union Minister Faggan Singh Kulaste lost to the Congress candidate Chainsingh Warkade by a margin of 9,723 votes in the Niwas constituency.

Faggan Singh Kulaste

The sitting MLA and Congress candidate Sanjay Shukla lost power in Indore-1 seat to the BJP candidate Kailash Vijayvargiya by 57,939 votes.

Sanjay Shukla

Prominent BJP member Narottam Mishra is the sitting MLA in the Datia area. Mishra lost the seat to the Congress candidate Bharti Rajendra by 7,742 votes. 

Narottam Mishra

Congress candidate Govind Singh lost the Lahar seat to the BJP candidate Ambrish Sharma by 12,397 votes. Singh is currently the sitting MLA of Lahar.

Govind Singh

After a close political fight between the sitting MLA from Congress- Jitu Patwari and BJP's Madhu Verma, Patwari lost the Rau seat to Verma by 35,522 votes. 

Jitu Patwari


Pratap Singh Khachariyavas, the Congress candidate and the sitting MLA of Civil Lines lost his seat to BJP's Gopal Sharma by 28,329 votes. 

Pratap Singh Khachariyavas

Senior Congress leader and the Speaker of the Rajasthan Assembly CP Joshi lost the Nathdwara seat to Vishvaraj Singh Mewar from the BJP by 7,504 votes.

CP Joshi

Congress MLA Mamta Bhupesh is the incumbent MLA in the Sikrai region of Rajasthan. The Congress candidate was defeated by the BJP candidate Vikram Bansiwal by 9,428 votes. 

Mamta Bhupesh

Rajendra Rathore is the leader of opposition in the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly. The BJP leader lost to the sitting MLA Narendra Badunia from Congress by a margin of 10,345 votes. 

Rajendra Rathore


Deputy Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh TS Baba is the sitting MLA of the Ambikapur constituency. The Congress leader lost his seat in a close political battle to the BJP's Rajesh Agrawal by 94 votes. 

TS Baba

Mohan Markam is the sitting MLA of Kondagaon. The Congress candidate lost his seat to Lata Usendi from the BJP by 18,572 votes.

Mohan Markam

Former home minister of Chhattisgarh and an independent candidate Brijmohan Agrawal was amidst a tough competition with top contenders in Raigarh. Omprakash Choudhary from the BJP defeated Agrawal in Raigarh by 64,443 votes.

Brijmohan Agrawal

Congress candidate Ravindra Chaube is the sitting MLA in the Saja assembly. The Congress veteran lost his seat to Ishwar Sahu from the BJP by 5,196 votes.

Ravindra Choubey


The incumbent Chief Minister of Telangana and the founder of Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), KCR was contesting from Kamareddy seat. BJP's Katipally Venkata Ramana Reddy defeated KCR by 6,741 votes.

K. Chandrashekhar Rao (KCR)

BJP's Bandi Sanjay Kumar was edged out by BRS candidate Gangula Kamalakar, who is the sitting MLA of Karimnagar assembly seat. He lost to Kamalakar by 3,163 votes.

Bandi Sanjay Kumar

Congress stalwart Anumula Revanth Reddy was contesting from the Kamareddy constituency. He was trailing behind KCR and lost the seat to Katipally Venkata Ramana by 11,736 votes.

Anumula Revanth Reddy