By Neha Yadav
Published Dec 04, 2023

Hindustan Times
In Focus

Assembly elections 2023: Key winners

Here is a list of key winners from the assembly elections held across Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Telangana.

Madhya Pradesh

Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar emerged victorious in Dimani, defeating Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Balveer Singh Dandotiya by 24,461 votes.

Narendra Singh Tomar

The incumbent Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Shivraj Singh Chouhan won from the Budhni seat by defeating the Congress candidate Vikram Mastal by 1,04,974 votes. 

Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Five-time Lok Sabha member, Prahlad Patel won his first assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh from Narsinghpur, beating Lakhan Singh Patel from Congress by 31,310 votes.

Prahlad Patel

BJP leader Gopal Bhargava secured his ninth consecutive victory from the Rehli seat. Bhargava defeated Jyoti Patel from Congress by 72,800 votes.

Gopal Bhargava

Congress leader Kamal Nath retained his stronghold in Chhindwara after a tight competition with BJP's Vivek Bunty Sahu. Kamal Nath won by 1,32,302 votes.

Kamal Nath


Former CM and BJP candidate Vasundhara Raje won from Jhalrapatan, defeating the sitting MLA Ramlal from Congress by a margin of 53,193 votes.

Vasundhra Raje 

Former deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan and Congress candidate Sachin Pilot won from Tonk, defeating Ajit Singh Mehta by a margin of 29,475 votes.

Sachin Pilot

Rajsamand MP and BJP candidate Diya Kumari won from the Vidhyanagar seat, defeating the Congress candidate Sitaram Agrawal by 71, 368 votes.

Diya Kumari

Bharat Adivasi Party (BAP) candidate Rajkumar Roat won the Chorasi assembly seat and defeated BJP's Sushil Katara by 29,475 votes.

Rajkumar Roat

BJP candidate Rajyavardhan Rathore won by a margin of 50,167 votes from Jhotwara and defeated Congress's Abhishek Choudhary. 

Rajyavardhan Rathore


The incumbent Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh and INC candidate Bhupesh Baghel won from the Patan constituency by a vote margin of 19,723 votes, defeating BJP's Vijay Baghel.

Bhupesh Baghel

BJP member Raman Singh defeated Girish Dewangan by a margin of 45,084 votes and retained his stronghold of the Rajnandgaon seat.

Raman Singh

Congress's Mahant won from Sakti and maintained his incumbent position by defeating BJP's Khilawan Sahu by a margin of 12,395 votes.

Charan Das Mahant


The sitting MLA and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) candidate Kalvakuntla Taraka Rama Rao won the Sirchilla seat. Rao defeated K.K. Mahender Reddy from Congress by a margin of 29,687 votes.

Kalvakuntla Taraka Rama Rao

BRS senior leader Thaneeru Harish Rao won from the Siddipet constituency. T Harish Rao defeated Congress's Pujala Hari Krishna by a margin of 82,308 votes.

Thanneeru Harish Rao

All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) candidate Akbaruddin Owaisi won majority seats from Chandrayangutta. Owaisi defeated the BRS candidate Muppi Seetharam Reddy by 81,660 votes.

Akbaruddin Owaisi

Congress candidate and a prominent Dalit leader Bhatti Vikramarka Mallu contested from Madhira and won by 35,452 votes, defeating Kamal Raju Lingala from BRS.

Bhatti Vikramarka Mallu

Congress leader K Venkat Reddy defeated the sitting MLA Kancharla Bhupal Reddy from Nalgonda by a margin of 54,332 votes. 

Komatireddy Venkat Reddy

BRS leader Chamakura Mall Reddy won and retained his seat from Medchal by defeating Thotkura Vajresh Yadav by 33,419 votes. 

Chamakura Mall Reddy