By Khushi Pal
Published Dec 03, 2023

Hindustan Times
In Focus

Rajasthan Assembly elections 2023: Key contenders for CM's post

 Bharatiya Janata Party appears set to return to power in Rajasthan's Assembly elections 2023. Here is a look at the top contenders who can become the next chief minister of the state. 

 Vasundhara Raje

Two-time chief minister Vasundhara Raje is among the leading contenders for the CM's post in  Rajasthan. She began her political career in 1984 and has been the face of BJP in the state for the last two decades.

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat

Union Jal Shakti minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat is another contender. He rose to political fame after defeating Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot’s son, Vaibhav, in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Jodhpur. 

Arjun Ram Meghwal

A former bureaucrat, Meghwal, 69, is a three-time parliamentarian and one of the Dalit faces in Rajasthan.

CP Joshi

CP Joshi is a two-time parliamentarian from Chittorgarh. He won the 2019 Lok Sabha Assembly elections. 

Baba Balaknath

A close aide of Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath, Balaknath has a mass following in eastern Rajasthan and is the head of the Nath sect in Rohtak.