(PTI Photo)
(PTI Photo)

E Palaniswami to be AIADMK’s CM candidate for Tamil Nadu assembly election 2021

An 11-member steering committee was set up by the party during the meeting to vet candidates for the polls.
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | By hindustantimes.com | Edited by Prashasti Singh
UPDATED ON OCT 07, 2020 12:28 PM IST

Tamil Nadu chief minister E Palaniswami will be All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s (AIADMK) chief ministerial candidate for state elections next year, party leader and deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam said on Wednesday.

“I am happy to announce that our dear brother Palaniswami will be the victorious chief ministerial candidate of the AIADMK for the 2021 Assembly elections,” he said. The decision was taken unanimously in consultations led by party presidium chairman E Madusudanan, he added.

He also announced the formation of an 11-member steering committee set up to vet candidates for the polls. The committee includes Ministers Dindigul C Sreenivasan, P Thangamani, and S P Velumani.

This announcement marks the coming together of the EPS (E Palaniswami) and OPS (O Panneerselvam) factions.

(with PTI inputs)

Story Saved