Today in New Delhi, India
May 19, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

From election results to floor test, a timeline of Karnataka’s political crisis

After the May 12 election results threw up a hung assembly in Karnataka, the BJP and the Congress-JD(S) combine have been fighting over who will form the government.

Karnataka Elections 2018 Updated: May 19, 2018 17:40 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
BS Yeddurappa,BS yeddyurappa resigns,Karnataka elections
Karnataka chief minister B S Yediyurappa(bottom right) with his party members during the oath taking ceremony of the newly-elected members of the house at Vidhana Soudha, in Bengaluru, on Saturday.(PTI)

BS Yeddyurappa resigned on Saturday as Karanataka chief minister instead of facing a crucial trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly, bringing an end to a political thriller that began after the May 12 elections threw up a hung verdict.

Here is the timeline of events that after the May 12 Karnataka elections and culminated in the Supreme-court mandated live telecast of the floor test at 4 pm:

May 12: Elections were held in Karnataka.

May 15: The Election Commission announces results. BJP emerges as th single largest party with 104 members; Congress with 78 and JD(S) with 37 MLAs stitch an alliance.

Both the BJP and the Congress-JD(S) combine stake claim to form government.

May 16: Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala invites BJP to form government and asks B S Yeddyurappa to take oath as chief minister the next day. The governor also gives Yeddyurappa 15 days to prove his majority in the assembly.

Congress moves Supreme Court late evening against the governor’s invitation to the BJP.

May 16-17: The Supreme Court opens its doors at midnight for an urgent hearing.

May 17: The court hearing begins at 2.11 am and concludes at 5.28 am. Supreme Court refuses to stay oath-taking ceremony of Yeddyurappa.

Yeddyurappa is sworn in as the chief minister at 9 am.

May 18: Supreme Court orders floor test at 4 pm on May 19.

Congress-JD (S) combine late at night moves the Superme Court challenging the governor’s decision to appoint BJP MLA K G Bopaiah as pro tem speaker to conduct the floor test. SC says it will hear the plea on May 19.

May 19: Supreme Court orders live telecast of floor test to ensure transparency in trust vote.

At 4 pm, BS Yeddyurappa announces, “I will not face confidence vote; I am going to resign”.

First Published: May 19, 2018 17:37 IST