TDP, YSR Congress no-trust motions against Modi govt: Lok Sabha adjourned till Tuesday
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

TDP, YSR Congress no-trust motions against Modi govt: Lok Sabha adjourned till Tuesday

YSR Congress and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) will pitch for taking up their notices of no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government.

india Updated: Mar 19, 2018 15:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
No confidence motion,Narendra Modi,TDP
Prime Minister Narendra Modi speaks with the media inside the parliament premises on January 29.(Reuters.)

The no-confidence motion against the NDA government, pitched by Andhra Pradesh chief minister Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party, was not taken up Monday as the Lok Sabha was adjourned till Tuesday after protests by lawmakers.

Lok Sabha was held up for the 11th day as the TDP, YSR Congress, TRS and AIADMK continued their protests over various issues, including the banking scam and special status for Andhra Pradesh. As soon as Speaker Sumitra Mahajan took up the Question Hour, lawmakers from these parties trooped into the Well holding placards. Naidu, the BJP’s biggest ally in south who walked out of the NDA last week, and his arch-rival YSR Congress have demanded a no trust vote against the government.

Here are the highlights:

1.45pm: Samajwadi Party MP Ramgopal Yadav alleges the AIADMK’s protests in Parliament are on the government’s “behest”. “The Opposition is ready for discussion on no confidence motion but it seems AIADMK is acting on behest of Central Govt and not letting the house function,” ANI quotes Yadav as saying.

1.43pm: YV Subba Reddy, an MP of the YSR Congress Party, again writes to Secretary General Lok Sabha to include in list of business for Tuesday ‘no confidence motion in the council of ministers’.

12.07pm: Lok Sabha is adjourned till Tuesday.

12.06pm: Speaker Sumitra Mahajan says she will not be able to get work done on no-confidence motions till House is in order. “Please go to your seats. If the House is not in order I will not bring the notices,” she says.

12.05pm: Lok Sabha resumes, Home Minister Rajnath Singh appeals members to allow debate

11.08am: Rajya Sabha adjourned till Tuesday after protests by TDP and AIADMK members..

11.07am: We will neither support the government nor the Opposition, we will abstain: Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant tells ANI.

11.06am: Lok Sabha adjourned till noon

10.37am: We are ready to face no-confidence motion as we have support in the House. We are confident, says Union parliamentary affairs minister Ananth Kumar.

10:35am: CPI supports no confidence motion. Duraisamy Raja of CPI says, as far as the Left parties are concerned, we will be supporting the no confidence motion. People have started expressing their no confidence in Modi Govt, its time Parliament does it too.

10:09am: Telugu Desam Party MP Thota Narsimham says they will move no-confidence motion. “Have talked to opposition parties, including TMC, Congress and Samajwadi Party. YSRCP is just doing politics, they are not concerned about welfare of the state.”

9:58am: Sanjay Raut of the Shiv Sena says the party will wait and watch. “Will also have to see if Speaker allows the no-confidence motion or rejects it. TDP has its own state issues and we welcome them. As of now we have not decided yet on no confidence motion, (party chief) Uddhav ji will take a call.”

9.56am: RJD’s JP Yadav has given adjournment motion notice in Lok Sabha over recent ‘communal incidents of violence in Araria, Bhagalpur and Darbhanga’.

9:53am: We are going to go move no-confidence motion,gather support of all respective parties in Parliament. It’s responsibility of all parties in Parliament to support us. Trying to gather as much support as possible so debate happens, not trying to make the govt fall says RM Naidu, TDP MP

9:45am: Telugu Desam Party(TDP) issues whip to its MPs, directs them to attend parliament till the end of the budget session as reported by ANI.

9:25am: We will continue to move no-confidence motion as long as the debate is taking place and facts are brought to the notice of the nation, and also to pressurize the Centre to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh, says K Parthsarathi, a YSR Congress Party MP.

9:10am: We, for the last four years after the state was bifurcated, have been fighting for special category status. Till 2016, BJP and Chandrababu Naidu kept saying that special status will be given. Then suddenly, he colluded with the BJP, he is like a chameleon, he decided against the state, says VS Reddy, YSR Congress Party MP.

First Published: Mar 19, 2018 09:44 IST