Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 16, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Parliament highlights: Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha adjourned amid unrelenting protests by Opposition

Thursday was the penultimate day of the Parliament’s Budget session.

india Updated: Apr 05, 2018 15:37 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Parliament live,Lok Sabha,Live updates
Opposition members protest during the on-going budget session of Rajya Sabha, at Parliament House in New Delhi on Wednesday. (PTI)

The Lok Sabha was once again unable to take up the no-confidence motion notices given by opposition MPs amid ruckus on the penultimate day of the Budget Session.

The Rajya Sabha was adjourned over the stalemate regarding the vote on Prevention of Corruption Bill.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar again blamed the Congress for disruptions, and also announced that MPs of the ruling party and allies would not take allowances for the days the House did not function.

Here are the highlights:

2.36pm: Rajya Sabha adjourned for the day amid uproar.

2.33pm: Kurien clarifies that voting rights of protesting members will be taken away. Protesting members raise chants of ‘We want Cauvery’.

2.30pm: “Allow division of votes or I will have to move to expel members protesting in the well,” says Kurien.

2.12pm: House adjourned for 15 minutes.

2.10pm: Earlier in the day, Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkiah Naidu had corrected the House records to state that a Bill to amend the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988, that was taken up on Wednesday, had not been passed by the Lok Sabha yet.

2.09pm: Uproar in the Rajya Sabha.

2.08pm: Kurien clarifies what took place in the House on Wednesday evening. He said TMC’s Sukhendu Shekhar Roy and Derek O’Brien asked for division of votes on the Prevention of Corruption Bill.

“The Chair has to oblige and I ordered the divion (of votes) but that needs order in the House. Since there was no order, I had to adjourn at 5 pm.”

Kurien says he will have to start where he stopped yesterday.

2.04pm: Rajya Sabha reconvenes. AIADMK protests in the well of the House. Slogans of ‘We want justice’ raised.

Deputy chair PJ Kurien requests members to allow him to speak.

1.40pm: Union minister Ananth Kumar says, “We’re ready and waiting to talk about the no-confidence motion, Cauvery issue and others. Congress should tell us why did they take it to the well of the House and not let it function when we’ve been ready to discuss all issues? We’ve presented a model of no work, no pay.”

12.15pm: The BJP will a hold Parliamentary party meeting on Friday, ANI reports.

12.11pm: Lok Sabha adjourned for the day.

12.10pm: Speaker urges protesting members to return to the seat so she can count members to take up the no-confidence motion against the government.

12.09pm: Uproar in the Lok Sabha as AIADMK members protest in the well of the House.

12.05pm: Lok Sabha reconvenes. Opposition demands the House take up the no-confidence motion. Speaker says she will take it up in accordance with the rules.

11.59am: In the Rajya Sabha, TMC member Shukhendu Shekar Roy had raised a point of order questioning the moving of Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill 2013 by Union Minister Jitendra Singh on Wednesday and demanded the legislation be recalled.

Chairman M Venkiah Naidu corrected the House records to state that the Bill that was taken up yesterday, had not been passed by the Lok Sabha yet.

11.11am: Rajya Sabha adjourned till 2pm after protests by Opposition members.

11.03am: In the Rajya Sabha, ministers lay their papers on the table of the House.

11.02am: Lok Sabha adjourned till noon within two minutes of assembling as AIADMK MPs protest over the Cauvery issue.

10.50am: Subramanian Swamy on NDA MPs forgoing their salary for disrupted part of Budget session: “I used to go daily. If House didn’t run it isn’t my fault. Anyhow I’m President’s representative. Until he says so, how can I say I’ll not take my salary?”

10.24am: Opposition parties protest in Parliament against the government over bank scam issue, farmer crisis, no-confidence motion, SC/ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act, and disinvestment of Air India among other issues.

UPA Chairperson and former Congress chief president Sonia Gandhi, incumbent president Rahul Gandhi joined the protest.

The Communist Party of India (CPI) leader D Raja, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge, and Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Jaya Bachchan along with others. (ANI/Twitter)

10am: Congress issues three line whip to its Rajya Sabha MPs, asking them to be present in the House.

9.45am: Parliament on Wednesday remained deadlocked for the 20th consecutive day as the TDP, the AIADMK and the Congress including some others stuck to their various demands even as the ruling BJP and others traded charges, blaming each other for the logjam.

The Lok Sabha was adjourned for the day following noisy protests by AIADMK members demanding a Cauvery Management Board while the Rajya Sabha proceedings were adjourned for a record 11 times due to noisy protests.

Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu and deputy chairman PJ Kurien tried their best to conduct the business to get the Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill 2013 passed but failed as the opposition parties stuck to their demand.

First Published: Apr 05, 2018 10:04 IST