New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 03, 2020-Thursday



Select Country
Select city
Home / India News / Parliament Highlights: Govt moves Prevention of Corruption Bill in Rajya Sabha amid uproar

Parliament Highlights: Govt moves Prevention of Corruption Bill in Rajya Sabha amid uproar

Ruckus has prevailed in both Houses of the Parliament during this Budget session over the Andhra special status, which has led to a no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government.

india Updated: Apr 04, 2018, 17:34 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
A view of the Lok Sabha in New Delhi on Tuesday.
A view of the Lok Sabha in New Delhi on Tuesday.(PTI Photo)

The proceedings of the Lok Sabha were disrupted for the 20th consecutive day on Wednesday with continuing protests by AIADMK members over the Cauvery issue leading to adjournment.

In the Rajya Sabha sessions, Vice President Venkaiah Naidu admonished members for not allowing the transaction of any bills. Naidu said Rajya Sabha members were testing the patience of country people.

Ever since the session has resumed after recess, daily disruptions have marred proceedings and the House has failed to transact any business amid clamour by parties to take up the no-confidence motion against the government.

The Budget session concludes this week on Friday.

Here are the highlights:

3.40pm: Rajya Sabha adjourned for 15 minutes.

3.39pm: Uproar as Kurien calls for vote on the Bill.

3.38pm: Minister Dr. Jitendra Singh moves the Prevention of Corruption Bill, as the Opposition creates ruckus and raises slogans.

3.36pm: Kurien says it his decision that the House proceeds with the Bill and starts discussion.

3.34pm: “If the Prevention of Corruption Bill is not passed, it will stall many programmes of the government. The Bill is not in the government’s interest, it is in national interest. So bill has to be passed,” Kurien says.

3.32pm: Deputy chairman PJ Kurien says the Opposition told him it wants discussion and the the govt said none of its business has been transacted.

3.16pm: House adjourned again till 3.30pm.

2.55pm: Rajya Sabha adjourned again for 30 minutes till 3.15pm.

2.13pm: Amid pandemonium, House is adjourned for 30 minutes.

2.12pm: Deputy chairman PJ Kurien urges members to return to their seats and discuss the issues.

2.09pm: Protesting MPs rush to the well of the House.

2.08pm: Azad says, “Our party and the present ruling party decided on Special Category Status for Andhra Pradesh. Why it is not being given? We want discussion on that, want discussion on the CBSE paper leak and, most importantly, on the SC/ST Atrocities Act.”

“The ruling party is not interested in passage of Bills, discussion of issues,” Azad says.

2.05pm: Leader of Opposition, Ghulam Nabi Azad, says, “We want to pass Bills in the House. Unlike what is being shown outside, the entire opposition is for the passage of Bills. While it is our responsibility to do, at the same time we have been mandated to raise issues affecting million of Indians.”

2pm: Rajya Sabha proceedings resume.

12.12pm: Lok Sabha adjourned till 11am on Thursday, April 5, 2018.

12.11pm: Sumitra Mahajan brings up no-confidence motions submitted to her. The Speaker says she cannot take them up unless there is order in the House and she can count the members.

12.05pm: Lok Sabha resumes. AIADMK MPs protest in the well of the House, raising slogans of ‘Don’t deceive Tamil people’ and ‘We want justice’.

11.22am: Rajya Sabha adjourned till 2pm.

Naidu says, “We have not transacted any bills, country wants development, you are testing the patience of the people of the country. Please understand that the entire country is agitated with what is happening in the House.”

11.21am: RS chairman Venkaiah Naidu requests members to go back to their seats and participate in discussion on all the issues raised. “I have allowed every issue,” he says.

11.16am: Parliamentary Affairs Ananth Kumar asks protesting members to go back to their seats.

11.13am: As ministers lay papers on the table, TDP MPs raise slogans of ‘Save Andhra Pradesh’.

MPs protest in the well of the House.

11.07am: In the Rajya Sabha, oath-taking ceremony of elected and re-elected MPs continues from yesterday. Forty-one members had taken oath on Tuesday.

11.06am: Lok Sabha adjourned till 12 noon after MPs raised slogans of ‘We want justice, we want Cauvery board’.


9am: Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal met Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu who is in Delhi demanding opposition’s support for no-confidence motion against NDA government

Sign In to continue reading