Punjab government to honour 550 achievers on Nov 10

Published on Nov 05, 2019 11:13 PM IST
HT Image
HT Image
Hindustan Times, Chandigarh | By, Chandigarh

Prominent Punjabi industrialists, businessmen, legal luminaries, philanthropists, artists, writers and politicians figure on the Punjab government honours’ list. They will be feted on November 10 by chief minister Capt Amarinder Singh at Punjab Technical University, Kapurthala, as part of the ongoing celebrations to mark the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak.

First on the list is former prime minister Manmohan Singh followed by five-times Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal. The list also includes names of Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) chief Gobind Singh Longowal and Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri.

Other prominent personalities on the list are senior Akali leader Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, former chief election commissioner and Congress leader MS Gill, senior Congress leader Kapil Sibal, economist Montek Singh Ahluwalia, economist and journalist Arun Shourie and senior lawyer KTS Tulsi.

UK-based businessmen Raj Loomba, Raminder Ranger, industrialist and philanthropist Swraj Paul will also be honoured.

Among the legal luminaries, Supreme Court judge justice SS Nijjar, former chief justice of India Jagdish Singh Khehar, former chief justices of Punjab and Haryana High court justice SS Sodhi and justice NK Sodhi, former lawyers in the Supreme Court justice HS Bedi and justice Kuldip Singh will be honoured. Former judge of the Punjab and Haryana high court Justice SS Saron and Malaysia-based Judge Harminder Singh Dhaliwal also figure on the list.

Other on the list include environmentalists Baba Balbir Singh Seechewal, Baba Sewa Singh and head of Pingalwara Inderjeet Kaur.

Bureaucrats to be honoured on the occasion include former IAS officers GS Cheema, Tejinder Khanna, former IPS officer Kiran Bedi, who is currently Lt governor of Puducherry and former governor of Jammu and Kashmir NN Vohra.

The state government will also honour acting jathedar of Akal Takht Giani Harpreet Singh, Takht Kesgarh Sahib jathedar Giani Raghbir Singh, head granthi of Darbar Sahib Giani Jagtar Singh, head granthi Damdama Sahib Bhai Balwant Singh and head granthi Keshgarh Sahib Giani Phoola Singh.

Cricketers Yuvraj Singh, Mohinder Amarnath, Madan Lal, Bishen Singh Bedi, Harbhajan Singh and Kapil Dev are also on the honours list.

Industrialists on the list include Rajinder Gupta, SP Oswal, Sunil Mittal, Jawahar Oswal, KBS Anand, Onkar Singh Pahwa, Pawan Munjal, Gautam Thapar, Analjit Singh, Anand Mahindra, Aroon Purie and Kuldip Dhingra, Binny Bansal, Kartar Singh Lalvani, Kartar Singh Thakral, Bob Singh Dhillon, Ajaypal Singh Banga, Darshan Singh Bagga and Bhav Dhillon.

The state government will also honour legendary athlete Milkha Singh, shooters Abhinav Bindra, Randhir Singh, hockey Olympian Balbir Singh Senior, Sardar Singh, Jeev Milkha Singh, Ajit Pal Singh, Bahadur Singh, Balbir Singh Kular, Kartar Singh, Kaur Singh and Mohinder Singh Dhillon.

From the defence forces, naval staff chief Admiral Karambir Singh, retired army chiefs Gen Nirmal Chander Vij, Gen JJ Singh and Gen Bikram Singh, retired air chief marshal BS Dhanoa, serving vice-chief of air force Air Marshal Harjit Singh Arora and retired air marshal Jagjeet Singh. Param Vir Chakra recipient Subedar Major and Honorary Captain Bana Singh will also get the honour.

Others on the honours’ list are: Tabla maestro Zakir Hussain, filmmaker Naresh Bedi, art historian BN Goswami, novelist Dalip Kaur Tiwana, actor Raj Babbar, graphic artist Arpana Caur, historian Romila Thapar, motivator Shiv Khera, doctors TS Kaler and Neelam Kaler, journalist Karan Thapar, agronomist Gurdev Khush, US-based physicist Narinder Singh Kapany, ex-chairman, IFFCO, Balwinder Singh Nakai, progressive farmers Jagjit Singh Hara and Rajpal Singh Gandhi, artist and director Neelam Mansingh Chowdhry, singers Puranchand Wadali and Hans Raj Hans, photographer Raghu Rai, poet Surjit Patar, painters Krishen Khanna, Gurcharan Singh and Arpita.

Close Story

Less time to read?

Try Quickreads

  • Police guard the Henry VIII gate to Windsor Castle in Windsor, England, Wednesday. Jaswant Singh Chail, 20, has been charged under the Treason Act after allegedly being caught with a crossbow on the palace grounds. (AP Photo/Alastair Grant, File) (AP)

    British Sikh Windsor Castle intruder told guards he wanted to kill Queen as revenge for Jallianwala Bagh massacre

    A British Sikh man found in the grounds of royal residence Windsor Castle armed with a crossbow on Christmas Day last year told palace guards that Jaswant Singh Chail, from Southampton was there to kill a UK court, Queen Elizabeth II was told on Wednesday. Earlier this month, 20-year-old Chail was charged with treason, threats to kill and possession of an offensive weapon.

  • Two gang associates held after encounter in Amritsar

    Two gang associates held after encounter in Amritsar

    Two members of Jaggu Bhagwanpuria gang were arrested after an exchange of fire with a Punjab Police team near Wadala Jihal drain falling under the Baba Bakala sub-division, on Wednesday. The arrested men have been identified as Gurbhej alias Baba and Samsher Singh alias Karan of Tarn Taran. They were chased for around 11 kilometres before being nabbed near the Wadala Jihal drain. Police said accused Gurbhej has been facing charges in three murder cases.

  • Spread over an area of 350 acres, Patiala Aviation Complex is a heritage institution that was set up in the first decade of the 20th century. (HT File/Representational image)

    Aviation museum to be set up in Patiala

    Punjab chief minister Bhagwant Mann has approved setting up of an aviation museum at the civil aerodrome in Patiala. Mann gave his nod to the proposal given by the Punjab state civil aviation council. Mann directed the public works department to execute the entire project in a smooth and result-oriented manner to ensure that it is completed within time.

  • Costly procurement of de-addiction tablets under Punjab govt’s lens

    Costly procurement of de-addiction tablets under Punjab govt’s lens

    Almost double increase in rate contract of a private firm done in the previous Congress government to purchase de-addiction drug Buprenorphine has come under scanner, with the department issuing notice to the firm for supplying the same drug on almost half of the rate to All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Delhi.

  • Gurpreet Kaur, in her complaint lodged at Zirakpur police station, alleged that Harmit Singh Pathanmajra had cheated her by marrying her without divorcing his first wife. She claimed that she was told before marriage that he had divorced his first wife (Getty Images/iStockphoto)

    Punjab: AAP MLA Harmit Singh Pathanmajra’s wife accuses him of assault, files police complaint

    An MLA in Punjab on Wednesday landed in a controversy after an MLA from Sanour assembly constituency in Patiala district's wife, Harmit Singh Pathanmajra accused him of assaulting Gurpreet Kaur's and threatening to kill. Gurpreet Kaur, in her complaint lodged at Zirakpur police station, claimed that she got married to an MLA from Sanour assembly constituency in Patiala district, Harmit Singh Pathanmajra, in August last year. In her complaint, Kaur also alleged that Pathanmajra had cheated her by marrying her without divorcing his first wife.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, August 18, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now