May 21, 2019-Tuesday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Gaurav Bisht

Gaurav Bisht


Gaurav Bisht heads Hindustan Times’ Himachal bureau. He covers politics in the hill state and other issues concerning the masses.

articles by Gaurav Bisht (1020 results)
May 19, 2019 13:16
Shyam Saran Negi was the first person to cast his vote in Independent India during the first election held in 1951 in the Chini assembly segment, which was later renamed as Kinnaur. read more
May 18, 2019 16:46
Riding on the Modi wave, the Bharatiya Janata Party had won all the four Lok Sabha seats — Mandi, Kangra, Shimla and Hamirpur — in the last general election in 2014. read more
May 14, 2019 01:52
Addressing the gathering, SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal said the Congress is trying to implicate the Akali leadership in sacrilege cases. read more
May 13, 2019 12:39
The long election season has proved to be a dampener for the tourism industry in Himachal Pradesh where polling will be held in the seventh and last phase of Lok Sabha elections on May 19. read more
May 12, 2019 12:34
Lok Sabha Elections 2019: In Himachal Pradesh, while the BJP is desperate to retain all four seats it won in 2014 elections, the Congress is keen to register impressive performance. read more
May 10, 2019 19:33
The Border Road Organisation (BRO) had set May 10 as the last date for clearing the snow. But inclement weather condition has hit the snow clearance work. read more
May 09, 2019 15:04
The remote polling station in Shakti village in Kullu district’s Banjar sub-division will host 108-year-old Shari Devi, the oldest voter in Himachal Pradesh. read more
Apr 17, 2019 14:48
The Border Road Organisation (BRO ) has undertaken the task to clear snow on the road leading to the north portal of tunnel near Teling village in Lahaul Spiti’s Sissu. read more
Apr 01, 2019 15:11
Anil Sharma, a minister in the BJP government in Himachal Pradesh, was supposed to attend an election event on Sunda. But he gave it a miss and conveyed to the party that he could not campaign against his son, Ashray Sharma, who is the Congress candidate... read more
Mar 30, 2019 13:55
The meeting between Sukh Ram and Virbhadra Singh is seen as the Congress high command’s effort to end rivalry between two stalwarts, that could mar party’s prospect in Lok Sabha elections from Mandi where chief minister Jai Ram Thakur’s personal prestige... read more
Mar 29, 2019 09:36
Shyam Saran Negi of Kinnaur district in Himachal Pradesh has voted in every Lok Sabha, assembly and panchayat elections and at 102, he is all set to vote again in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. read more
Mar 27, 2019 11:06
The Tashigang polling station in Himachal Pradesh falls in Buddhist-dominated Lahaul-Spiti, one of the 17 assembly segments that form the Mandi Lok Sabha seat , the second largest constituency in India. read more
Mar 25, 2019 14:40
The Bharatiya Janata Party had taken the Mandi Lok Sabha seat from the Congress in 2014 elections, when riding on Modi wave. Ramswroop Sharma scored a surprise victory defeating Pratibha Singh. read more
Mar 16, 2019 09:43
In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the commission had appointed Shyam Saran Negi, not only one of the oldest voters in the state, but was also the first voter of independent India, as its brand ambassador. read more
Mar 15, 2019 14:23
Ram Swaroop Sharma, the low-profile MP of Mandi Lok Sabha constituency, who rode the Modi wave in 2014, faces flak for failing to deliver on improving connectivity and generating jobs in the constituency. read more