Delhi Election Result 2020 Highlights | AAP makes clean sweep, wins 62 seats; BJP ends up with 8

Updated on Feb 11, 2020 10:32 PM IST

Delhi Election Result 2020: The exit polls have predicted the AAP will win a two-thirds majority with some giving it a three-fourth majority in the 70-member assembly.

AAP convener and Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal addressed party workers as the party looked to sweep the assembly election, Feb 11, 2020.(Raj K Raj / HT Photo)
AAP convener and Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal addressed party workers as the party looked to sweep the assembly election, Feb 11, 2020.(Raj K Raj / HT Photo)
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent

Delhi assembly poll results were declared on Tuesday with the ruling Aam Aadmi Party winning 62 seats in the 70-member assembly. The BJP was a distant second, managing to win only eight seats. Counting of votes started at 8 am and the final result was declared after 10 pm . As many as 21 centres were set up for counting of votes.

Voting took place on February 8. While 14.7 million voters were eligible to exercise their franchise, Election Commission on Sunday announced that the turnout was only 62.59%.

The exit polls had predicted the AAP will win a two-thirds majority with some giving it a three-fourth majority in the 70-member assembly. BJP was predicted to improve its poll performance from last elections.

Catch the highlights of Delhi Election Result 2020 here:

- The AAP has won the Delhi assembly election, winning 62 seats in the 70-member House. The BJP managed to win only eight seats while the Congress failed to open its account.

- The final result in Delhi assembly election goes in favour of AAP, with its candidate Dilip Pandey winning the Timarpur seat.

- AAP has made a Promise Day promise to Delhi, saying ‘we won’t let you down’. In a tweet, the party thanked Dilli for electing it again. The party has won 55 seats so far.

- PM Modi congratulates Arvind Kejriwal on his party’s win in Delhi election.

- AAP has crossed the half-way mark of 36 in the 70-member Delhi assembly.

-Congratulatory messages are pouring in for the AAP and its convener Arvind Kejriwal. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, Union defence minister Rajnath Singh and RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav tweeted their congratulations through tweets.

- Arvind Kejriwal, accompanied by his wife and AAP leaders, visited the Hanuman Temple in central Delhi to offer prayers.

-Delhi chief minister and AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal has won from the New Delhi assembly constituency.

-BJP’s Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari, addressing a press conference, said the party will evaluate the result as AAP is all set to storm back to power. “We couldn’t perform well,we’ll evaluate this.Sometimes we get discouraged when results are not as per our expectations but I would like to tell our workers to not be disheartened...Compared to 2015 our winning percentage has increased,” said Tiwari. : ANI

- Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari thanked party workers and congratulated AAP through a tweet. “Thank you to all the voters of Delhi. Thank you to all the workers for their hard work… We respectfully accept the mandate of the people of Delhi,” Manoj Tiwari tweeted and congratulated Delhi CM and AAP convenor Arvind Kejriwal as the party surged ahead in assembly elections.

-Arvind Kejriwal : It is the beginning of a new kind of politics. This isn’t only a win for Delhi but a win for the whole country.

-Delhi CM and AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal is addressing party workers as his party surges ahead in the assembly polls. Thanks Delhi; says, “Want to thank Delhiites who have reposed their faith in their son for the third time.

- AAP’s Atishi, who won from the Kalkaji seat, tweeted a thank you to the people of Delhi. “Thank you to all the people of Delhi for putting their faith in @AamAadmiParty and voting for politics of development. In the last 5 years we have endeavoured to make Delhi’s Govt. Schools the best in the country and now we’ll make Kalkaji the best constituency in Delhi!,” she said.

- Delhi’s deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia has won from the Patparganj assembly constituency.

- Kapil Mishra, BJP candidate from Model Town constituency congratulates AAP, reports ANI. Mishra said, “I congratulate Aam Aadmi Party and Arvind Kejriwal for the excellent victory. BJP has lost the fifth state election in a row. It means we have somewhere failed to connect with the people of Delhi.”

- AAP’s Praveen Kumar has won from Jangpura and AAP’s Sahiram has won from Tughlakabad.

- AAP’s Raghav Chadha has won from Rajinder Nagar and AAP’s Bandana Kumari has won from Shalimar Bagh

- From Shalimar Bagh, reports of AAP supporters celebrating are already coming in.

- AAP’s Amanatullah Khan has widened his lead against Braham Singh of the BJP in the Okhla assembly constituency, home to Shaheen Bagh and Jamia Nagar where protests against the amended citizenship act are raging.

- After 5th round of counting, Aam Aadmi Party’s Raj Kumari Dhillon is leading against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga from Hari Nagar constituency.

- After round 3, Arvind Kejriwal is leading by 6,399 votes from New Delhi constituency.

- Aam Aadmi Party’s Manish Sisodia is trailing behind BJP’s Ravi Negi by 1,427 votes, in Patparganj assembly constituency, after third round of counting. Over three hours into counting, Congress has got lead in Jangpura constituency. AAP is leading in 54 constituencies and BJP in 15.

- Delhi Assembly Speaker and Aam Aadmi Party’s Ram Niwas Goel is trailing from Shahdara.Three hours into counting, AAP is leading in 50 constituencies and BJP has the lead in 20.

- In Seelampur, after three rounds, AAP is leading with 11,440 votes while BJP is trailing with 10,697 votes. Congress has 1.686 votes.

- Over two hours into counting, AAP is leading in 55 constituencies and BJP in 17.

- A little over an hour into counting, AAP is leading in 53 seats, BJP in 17, and Congress has lost its only lead in Ballimaran to AAP.

- One hour into counting, AAP is leading in 53 seats, BJP in 16 and Congress in 1 constituency.

- Fifty minutes into counting of votes, early trends of 69 seats show AAP leading in 55 seats, BJP in 14 and Congress in zero seats.

- Twenty-seven minutes into counting, early trends of 53 seats show AAP’s lead in 40 seats

- Twenty-five minutes into counting of votes, AAP is leading with over 35 seats. BJP is leading in 13 constituencies.

- Ten minutes into counting, AAP gets 32 constituencies, BJP gets 7 constituencies. Congress gets zero leads.

- Five minutes into counting, AAP gets lead in 19 constituencies, BJP in 6.

- One minute into counting, AAP gets first lead in Rajouri Garden, Nangloi Jat, Tilak Nagar and Palam.

- Fate of 672 candidates- 593 men and 79 women- will be decided by the evening.

- Counting of votes has begun in all 70 Delhi assembly constituencies. Early trends will soon start to appear. Following the high-octane campaign by AAP, BJP and Congress, voting in the national capital took place on February 8.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, February 02, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals