Parties bank on star power to win municipal bypolls in Delhi

  • Mohit Sharma, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: May 13, 2016 01:11 IST
Union minister Harsh Vardhan and BJP MPs Ramesh Bidhuri, Meenakshi Lekhi, Pravesh Verma and Manoj Tiwari are also campaigning.

From Members of Parliament to sitting ministers, political parties have roped in their star campaigners to ensure a win in the municipal bypolls for 13 wards to be held on May 15.

BJP leaders said all its MPs from Delhi were campaigning for party candidates. The party asked its senior leaders to increase the number of public meetings in the next two days.

BJP leaders said Union minister Harsh Vardhan and BJP MPs Ramesh Bidhuri, Meenakshi Lekhi and Pravesh Verma have been campaigning for the party candidates along with state party chief Satish Upadhyay. MP Manoj Tiwari is also campaigning in several wards.

“The people of Delhi are fed up with the politics of chief minister Arvind Kejriwal. They feel cheated. Our internal survey suggests the BJP has regained the confidence of the people of Delhi and in the civic by-elections we will get the largest vote share,” said Delhi BJP president Satish Upadhyay

The Aam Aadmi Party has several of its leaders, including Delhi ministers, to root for its candidates.

AAP spokesperson Dilip Pandey said the party was sure of securing all 13 seats in the polls. “People have already lost their faith in Congress and are fed up of the negligible development the BJP showed in the past 10 years. The people are looking to experiment before the municipal elections next year” said Pandey.

Also read: Diesel cab ban leaves Delhi poll panel without vehicles for bypolls

Deputy CM Manish Sisodia, tourism minister Kapil Mishra and Kumar Vishwas are among the senior leaders campaigning for AAP.

The Congress, too, is banking on its senior leaders. The list of campaigners includes Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, former chief minister of Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot and MP Raj Babbar.

State Congress chief Ajay Maken said that the 13 MCD wards, where by-elections are scheduled to be held, suffered terribly in the absence of elected representatives even as the AAP government continued spending crores for self publicity.

The municipal bypolls for 13 wards in the Capital is scheduled to be held on May 15. A total of 101 nominations have been filed for the municipal elections. The results of the bypolls will be declared on May 17.

also read

Delhi chokes before Diwali: Air pollution rises alarmingly
Show comments