As it happened: Sarbananda Sonowal takes oath as Assam CM

Former Union minister and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Sarbananda Sonowal took oath as the new chief minister of Assam on Tuesday.

Assam 2016 Updated: May 24, 2016 17:45 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Sarbananda Sonowal,Assam elections,BJP govt in Assam
BJP chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal flashes victory sign with party leader Mahendra Singh at a victory procession after the party's thumping win the Assam Assembly polls, in Guwahati.(PTI)

Former Union minister and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Sarbananda Sonowal took oath as the new chief minister of Assam on Tuesday.

The swearing-in function in Guwahati’s Khanapara field was attended by diplomats from Saarc countries besides Prime Minister Narendra Modi, chief ministers of BJP-ruled states and Union ministers.


5.30pm: Assam is a state of ethnic and religious diversity: Sarbananda Sonowal

5.20pm: Centre will try to keep pace with Assam’s speed now: PM Modi.

5.20pm: A leader belonging to the tribal community, a leader dedicated to serving society will now be the CM of Assam: PM on Sonowal

5.15pm: I want to thank people of Assam for giving Sarbananda ji and his ministers an opportunity to serve Assam: PM Modi

4.50pm: Keshab Mahanta takes oath as a minister.

4.45pm: Parimal Shukla Baidya takes oath as a minister.

Chandra Mohan Patowary takes oath as a minister in Assam government.

4.40pm: Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as a minister in Assam government.

4.35pm: Former Assam CM Tarun Gogoi among other dignitaries on the dias.

Governor PB Acharya administers the oath of secrecy to Sonowal and his cabinet.

4.30pm: The chief ministers of 13 states ruled by BJP and NDA constituents were present.

The chief ministers included Madhya Pradesh’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Rajasthan’s Vasundhara Raje, Maharashtra’s Devendra Fadnavis, Andhra Pradesh’s Chandrababu Naidu of Telugu Desam Party and Arunachal Pradesh’s Kalikho Pul of People’s Party of Arunachal.

4.25pm: Sarbananda Sonowal takes oath as the chief minister of Assam.

4.25pm: PM Modi reaches the venue of the oath-taking.

Modi became the first prime minister to attend the swearing-in of a chief minister in Assam or any of the other seven north-eastern states.

Watch: Sarbananda Sonowal’s oath-taking ceremony

Guwahati got a new look as banners and hoardings of NDA leaders were displayed.

Read: AASU stamp evident on Assam’s new BJP-led govt

Massive security arrangements have been made in the entire city. CCTV cameras have also been installed everywhere at the venue.

The BJP created history in Assam on May 19, winning 60 of the 126 assembly seats up for grabs. Its coalition partners - the Asom Gan Parishad and the Bodoland People’s Front secured 14 and 12 seats respectively. All three together secured 86 of the 126 assembly seats.

The victory in Assam means the BJP will now play a decisive role in the politics of the north eastern region, where it had been a marginal political force until now.

The Congress Party ended up with just 26 seats, feeling the sting of an anti-incumbency wave and popular desire for change.

Assembly Elections 2016: Full Coverage

Assam elections 2016: Full Coverage

First Published: May 24, 2016 16:26 IST