The Dirty Picture, ZNMD win big

Vidya Balan, Ranbir Kapoor, Ekta Kapoor and Zoya Akhtar return happy from recently-concluded Zee Cine Awards 2012.

bollywood Updated: Feb 06, 2012 14:37 IST
Serena Menon
Serena Menon
Hindustan Times
Vidya Balan,Ranbir Kapoor,Ekta Kapoor

Vidya Balan was almost in tears when she was called on stage to accept the award for the Best Actor (popular choice) for her role in last year’s The Dirty Picture,
minutes after she had walked away with the jury’s choice award in the same category. “I’m humbled,” she said, before thanking “a special someone”.

The Zee Cine Awards 2012, held in Macau, last month, seemed to have something in store for everyone. Zoya Akhtar won the Best Director award for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. The film also bagged the awards for Best Story (Akhtar and Reema Kagti), Best Film and Best Cinematography (Carlos Catalaon). Farhan Akhtar, who co-produced the film, won the Best Actor in Supporting Role award.

Though films like Saat Khoon Maaf and Delhi Belly did not feature, Shah Rukh Khan, who was co-hosting the function with Priyanka Chopra and Farhan, took the lukewarm response RA.One received with a pinch of salt. “At least we got something right (with RA.One),” he joked, when the film was awarded the Best Sound Design award. The surprising award of the evening was the jury’s choice Best Actor award that went to Shah Rukh for Don 2.

Ekta Kapoor smiled through the event, which time and again honoured The Dirty Picture. The film won the Best Dialogue (Rajat Aroraa), Best Choreography (Pony Verma) and the jury award for Best Film. The producer’s father, Jeetendra, was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award by Rishi Kapoor and Neetu Singh.

Ranbir Kapoor finally earned himself the Best Actor (popular choice) for Rockstar. While receiving the award, he said to Shah Rukh in jest, “Thank you for finally letting someone else win this.” To which, Khan quipped, “I’m waiting for the day when my son will give you a run for your money.” Director Imtiaz Ali won the award for Best Screenplay along with Musaam Beg, and the jury award for Best Director. He added, "I'm only a representative of the film." AR Rahman was given the award for Best Music for Rockstar.

Winners are
International icon (Male): Farhan Akhtar
International icon (Female): Katrian Kaif
Song of the Year: Chammak Challo (RA.One)
Best Background Music: Ranjit Barot (Shaitaan)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Swara Bhaskar (Tanu Weds Manu)
Best Actor in a Negative Role: Prakash Raj (Singham)
Best Debut Director: Siddique (Bodyguard)
Best Actor Debut (Male): Rana Daggubati (Dum Maro Dum)
Best Playback Singer (Male): Mohit Chauhan for ‘Jo bhi main...’ (Rockstar)

First Published: Feb 06, 2012 14:35 IST