Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

Tripura election results: Congress' Sudip Roy Barman retains his seat from Agartala

By | Edited by Poulomi Ghosh
Mar 02, 2023 11:38 AM IST

Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman, who was leading since the early trends, secured about 57% of the vote share with 26,435 votes, while BJP's Papia Dutta managed nearly 40% votes.

While the Bharatiya Janata Party and its allies are set to come back power in Tripura, Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman has managed to retain his seat from Agartala, winning by a margin of 8,162 votes, amid the ongoing counting for election results on Thursday. Barman, who switched from the BJP after winning the 2018 assembly elections, was tied in a contest with BJP's Papia Dutta and four other candidates in the seat.

Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman with Rahul Gandhi dring Bharat Jodo Yatra(Twitter/Sudip Roy Barman)

Also Read| Town Bordowali election results 2023: CM Manik Saha leading in early trends

Barman, who was leading since the early trends, secured about 57% of the vote share with 26,435 votes, while Dutta managed nearly 40% votes. After switching from the BJP, he retained his seat in the last year’s bye-poll in a three-way contest. With no challenge from Left parties, the incumbent MLA was up against BJP’s Papia Dutta and Arnab Roy of the Republican Party of India. Goutam Deb, Malin Debbarma, and Mangal Mia were the other three candidates, fighting independently from the seat.

Check live updates of Tripura election result here.

A triangular contest was on cards between the BJP, old rivals Congress-CPIM which joined hands this time to defeat the BJP, and Tipra Motha, seen as a kingmaker in case of a hung assembly scenario.

Meanwhile, the BJP was seen celebrating as the party is likey to retain the state as it leads in the ongoing counting. Tripura chief minister Manik Saha won his seat from Town Bordowali, while in other key constituencies, BJP MLA Pranajit Singha Roy has also retained his seat, defeating his rival Srikanta Datta of Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) from Radhakishorepur seat by a margin of 7,414 votes while TIPRA Motha’s Sanjoy Manik Tripura has won from Karbook seat, a reserved Tribal dominated district.

The election in the state was held on February 16 that recorded 89.95 percent voting including 2.19 percent votes polled through postal ballots.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now