New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 23, 2019-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Oct 23, 2019

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Jahanabad, Bihar

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Jahanabad, Bihar constituency profiles

constituency-watch Updated: May 15, 2019 16:58 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Jehanabad Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Profile from Bihar
Jehanabad Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Profile from Bihar(Hindustan Times)

RSLP’s Arun Kumar is the current member of Parliament from Jahanabad Lok Sabha constituency in the district of the same name in Bihar.

Arun Kumar defeated Surendra Prasad Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal in 2014 Lok Sabha election. Before this, Janata Dal(United) leader Jagdish Sharma held the general seat, which was once the stronghold of the Communist Party of India.

State: Bihar

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Jahanabad

Date of voting: May 19

2019 candidates: Chandeshwar Prasad (JD-U), Surendra Prasad Yadav (RJD)

Sitting MP, Party: Arun Kumar, Rashtriya Lok Samta Party

Winning margin in 2014: 42,340

Runner up name, party: Surendra Prasad Yadav, RJD

Number of voters in 2014: 811,516

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 57.02%

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,537

Number of women voters: 671,661

First Published: Mar 12, 2019 15:38 IST

top news