Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 18, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Constituency Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Constituency profile of Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh

constituency watch Updated: Apr 18, 2019 15:57 IST
Hindustan Times
Bilaspur Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Bilaspur Profile,Bilaspur General Elections 2019
Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Constituency Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh(Parwaz Khan /HT PHOTO)

Lakhan Lal Sahu of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the current member of Parliament from Bilaspur in Chhattisgarh.

Lakhan Lal Sahu defeated Congress’ Karuna Shukla, the niece of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, in 2014 Lok Sabha election from this general seat. She had resigned from the BJP in February 2014. Dilip Singh Judeo of the BJP had won the seat in 2009. He died in 2013.

State: Chhattisgarh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Bilaspur

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Atal Shrivastav (Congress), Arun Sao (BJP), Uttam Das Guroo Gosai (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Lakhan Lal Sahu, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 176,436

Runner up name, party: Karuna Shukla, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,090,457

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 63.13%

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,908

Number of women voters: 838,103

First Published: Mar 19, 2019 15:46 IST