Bangladesh names 14-member test squad to play South Africa

Updated on Feb 19, 2008 04:15 PM IST
The first test starts Friday at Dhaka's Mirpur stadium, while the second begins February 29.
HT Image
HT Image
AP | By, Bangladesh

Bangladesh selectors recalled experienced spinner Mohammad Rafique to a 14-member squad to play two test matches against South Africa starting this week. The squad includes three openers in Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees and Junaid Siddique, while former skipper Habibul Bashar, Rajin Saleh and Aftab Ahmed will join captain Mohammad Ashraful in the middle-order, chief selector Rafiqul Alam said Tuesday. Fast bowlers Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Shahadat Hossain and Sajidul Islam join spinners Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak and Shakib Al Hasan. Mushfiqur Rahim was named as wicketkeeper. The selectors dropped allrounder Farhad Reza and spinner Enamul Haque from the team that toured New Zealand last month. The first test starts Friday at Dhaka's Mirpur stadium, while the second begins Feb. 29 in southeastern Chittagong city. The two-test series will be followed by three limited-overs internationals. Bangladesh has lost all four previous tests against South Africa.

Bangladesh squad:
Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Habibul Bashar, Mohammad Rafique, Shahriar Nafees, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed, Junaid Siddique, Mushfiqur Rahim, Rajin Saleh, Sajidul Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, August 12, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now