Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sydney T20 first innings highlights: Watson ton takes Aussies to 197/5

Australia’s stand-in skipper Shane Watson won the toss and opted to bat first in the third and final Twenty20 against India in Sydney on Sunday.

Ind vs Aus 2016 Updated: Jan 31, 2016 16:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
India vs Australia 2016,Sydney T20,Shane Watson
Australia's Shane Watson plays a shot during their T20 International cricket match against India in Sydney on January 31, 2016. (AP Photo)


Over 20: 10 runs and a wicket off the last over. 197/5

Over 19: A six and five singles off the Nehra over. 187/4

Over 18: 8 runs off the Ashwin over. 176/4

Over 17: 19 off the over, but Jadeja gets a consolation wicket, cleans up Travis Head. 168/4

16.6 Ravindra Jadeja to Travis Head

OUT! Bowled ‘em! Jadeja fires it on middle, Head looks to flick it to the on side but the pace of the delivery it too much. Head only manages to get a bottom edge onto the stumps. A fine partnership comes to an end.

Over 16: 9 off the over. 149/3

Over 15: 13 off the over. 140/3

Over 14: 9 off the over. 127/3

Over 13: Another expensive Pandya over, 15 from it. 118/3

Over 12: A six and a four by Travis Head. 103/3

Over 11: 9 runs off the over. 89/3

Over 10: Hugely successful over from Yuvraj. A wicket and five runs. 80/3

9.1 Yuvraj Singh to Glenn Maxwell

OUT! Yuvi strikes straightaway! Bowls a tossed up delivery outside off, Maxwell drives it uppishly to covers. Suresh Raina the man stationed at covers take a sharp catch to get rid of Maxy. It was Yuvraj who got his wicket the other day and Yuvi has done it again tonight.

Over 9: 3 off Jadeja’s over. 75/2

Over 8: Ashwin castles Marsh. 72/2

7.4 Ravichandran Ashwin to Shaun Marsh

OUT! Cleaned him up! Floated on off, Marsh goes after it and chooses to slog it but misses it completely. The ball knocks over the off stump as Marsh has no clue about it. Ashwin gets a wicket only in his second over.

Over 7: A relatively less six runs off the over. 63/1

Over 6: Ashwin comes on, 50 up for the Aussies. 57/1

Over 5: Expensive again, this time from Nehra. The Aussies are scoring at a fast clip. 48/1

Over 4: Expensive over from Bumrah again, 12 off it. 36/1

Over 3: Khawaja’s wicket and nine runs off Nehra’s over, 24/0

2.2 Ashish Nehra to Usman Khawaja

OUT! Nehra gets the dangerous man! Bowls it on a length just around the off stump channel. Khawaja looks to defend it but gets a thick outside edge to it. The ball flies to the left of Dhoni where it he takes a good low catch. That was a beauty of a delivery by Nehra!

Over 2: Expensive over from Jasprit Bumrah, 14 off it. 15/0

Over 1: Tidy from Ashish Nehra, just one run and five dot balls. Australia 1/0

Australia’s stand-in skipper Shane Watson won the toss and opted to bat first in the third and final Twenty20 against India in Sydney on Sunday.

India have already clinched the series 2-0 and the Australians, as part of a rotation policy ahead of the World T20 in March, have made five changes to the team. Usman Khawaja is in for injured T20 captain Aaron Finch, Cameron Bancroft is playing in place of Matthew Wade, Travis Head is in for James Faulkner, Cameron Boyce is included in place of Nathan Lyon and Shaun Tait is in for John Hastings.

India’s limited-overs skipper MS Dhoni said he too would have opted to bat first. India are fielding the same side that played the first two matches. “I have not seen too many series where the top order has batted so well,” said Dhoni.



Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra


Shane Watson (captain), Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Cameron Bancroft (wicketkeeper), Andrew Tye, Cameron Boyce, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait

Read | Sydney T20 second innings highlights

First Published: Jan 31, 2016 13:51 IST