Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Unmukt Chand’s fine form continues, Tamil Nadu suffer
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Unmukt Chand’s fine form continues, Tamil Nadu suffer

Unmukt Chand blasted a fine 90 as Delhi thrashed Bengal by 89 runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy while Tamil Nadu suffered their fourth consecutive defeat with a loss to Andhra Pradesh.

cricket Updated: Feb 11, 2018 19:07 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
PTI, New Delhi
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018,Vijay Hazare Trophy,Unmukt Chand
Unmukt Chand continued his fine form with a blistering 90 against Bengal to continue Delhi’s winning run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy in 2018. (HT Photo)

Unmukt Chand was back among the runs with a knock of 90 as Delhi thrashed Bengal by 89 runs to continue their winning streak in the domestic one-day cricket tournament for the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Opting to bat after winning the toss, Delhi posted a competitive 282 for two in the stipulated 50 overs at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium.

In reply, Bengal were all out for 193 in 41 overs with Abhimanyu Easwaran making 67 off 89 balls in the Group B match. Delhi were off to a steady start as Unmukt and Hiten Dalal added 67 runs for the first wicket.

Last match centurion Dhruv Shorey fell cheaply for 11 after Dalal’s departure, but Unmukt found an able ally in Nitish Rana, who slammed 48 off 42 balls with the help of four sixes and two boundaries. The duo added 82 runs for the third wicket. During his 114-ball knock, Unmukt struck nine boundaries and two sixes.

Milind Kumar (38) and Pawan Negi (26) made useful contributions as Delhi, who were at one stage sitting pretty at 173 for two, managed to set a challenging target.

Medium pacer Boddupalli Amit was Bengal’s most successful bowler, returning figures of 4/52 in his full quota of 10 overs.

When Bengal’s turn to bat came, their top-order struggled against the duo of medium pacer Suboth Bhati and left-arm medium pace bowler Kulwant Khejroliya. Both picked up three wickets each.

Easwaran aside, Anustup Majumdar made 31 and Writtick Chatterjee 27. Delhi skipper Ishant Sharma returned wicket-less while giving away 29 runs in seven overs, but left-arm spinner Pawan Negi had two wickets to his name.

In the other Group B matches, Uttar Pradesh beat Himachal Pradesh by 43 runs in Bilaspur, while Kerala defeated Tripura by four wickets in Dharamsala.

Tamil Nadu’s woes continue

Rajat Patidar continued his strong form, hammering an unbeaten 124 off 85 balls to power Madhya Pradesh to a crushing eight-wicket win over Goa today with 24.2 overs to spare in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Group ‘C’ League.

Andhra, meanwhile, piled more misery on defending champions Tamil Nadu, posting a 29-run win. It was the host’s fourth straight loss in the tournament.

Earlier, Goa couldn’t capitalise on Swapnil Asnodkar’s strokeful knock of 85 (96 balls, 10x4, 1x6) and collapsed to 220 all out in 48.3 overs from 133 for 2.

Sohraab Dhaliwal and Anshul Tripathi took three wickets each for MP.

In the Andhra-Tamil Nadu game, the former rode on half centuries from opener K S Bharat (82), B Sumanth (62 not out) and Ricky Bhui (52) to post a competitive 276 for 6 in 50 overs.

In reply, Tamil Nadu could only muster 247 in 48.5 overs with only J Kousik (56) getting a half-century.

In another match, Gujarat thumped Team Rajasthan by seven wickets, romping to a win in 33.2 overs after bowling out its rival for 172 in 47.3 overs.

Brief scores:

Goa 220 all out in 48.3 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 85, Sohraab Dhaliwal 3 for 33, A Tripathi 3 for 40) lost to Madhya Pradesh 223 for 2 in 25.4 overs (Rajat Patidar 124 not out, Naman Ojha 50). Points: MP:4; Goa: 0.

Team Rajasthan 172 all out in 47.3 overs (M K Lomror 63, Piyush Chawla 3 for 44) lost to Gujarat 176 for 3 in 33.2 overs (Priyank Panchal 55, Bhargav Merai 41 not out, Dhruv Raval 40). Points: Gujarat: 4; Rajasthan: 0.

Andhra Pradesh 276 for 6 in 50 overs (K S Bharat 82, B Sumanth 62 not out, Ricky Bhui 52, Rahil Shah 2 for 39) beat Tamil Nadu 247 all out in 48.5 overs (J Kousik 56, N Jagadeesan 40, B Ayyappa 2 for 37). Points: Andhra: 4; TN: 0.

First Published: Feb 11, 2018 19:05 IST