Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI to felicitate Sachin Tendulkar & Co at IPL 2017 opening ceremony

Sachin Tendulkar and his band of four other batting stalwarts will be honoured at the opening ceremony of the Indian Premier League in Hyderabad on April 5

ipl 2017 Updated: Mar 30, 2017 21:42 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
IPL 2017,IPL,Indian Premier League
Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman and Virender Sehwag will be felicitated by BCCI at the IPL 2017 opening ceremony.(PTI)

Former India skippers Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly and Virender Sehwag, as well as VVS Laxman, represented the golden age of Indian batting across the 1990s and the first decade of the new millennium.

Now, the Fab Five will come together at the opening ceremony of the Indian Premier League’s 10th edition in Hyderabad on April 5 when they are honoured by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Read more | India cricket team not scared of playing Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq, Shahid Afridi

The IPL governing council, which met here on Thursday, made the decision to honour the batting stalwarts, its chairman Rajeev Shukla told reporters after the Governing Council meeting of the T20 league.

Former India women’s cricketers, who have been chosen for a one-time ex-gratia payment from the BCCI, will receive their cheques during games at their respective IPL venues.

Read more | India vs Australia: Keepers sledging is as bad as cheating, says Syed Kirmani

This year’s IPL edition will culminate with the final on May 21. Mumbai will host a play-off match this year, after it had to be moved out last year due to severe drought in Maharashtra.

First Published: Mar 30, 2017 21:42 IST