Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 21, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Chalakudy, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Chalakudy, Kerala.

constituency watch Updated: Mar 17, 2019 12:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Chalakudy Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Chalakudy Profile,Kerala Chalakudy General Elections 2019
An Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and a Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT).(Sakib Ali / Hindustan Times)

Chalakudy is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies that make up Kerala.

Chalakudy Lok Sabha constituency was formed in 2008 after the Mukundapuram constituency was dissolved as part of the delimitations order of 2008.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the constituency had voted for Congress candidate KP Dhanapalam, subsequently voting for independent candidate Innocent in 2014. Till its dissolution, Mukundapuram was a UDF bastion, having won it 10 times since 1957.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

Chalakudy is known to be a constituency where the dreams of stalwarts are scuttled. The nearest example is that of Innocent, a film star, who burst on to the political arena in the constituency in 2014 and defeated Congress’s stalwart PC Chacko by a comfortable margin of nearly 14,000 votes. By defeating Chacko, Innocent became the first film personality from the state to get a seat in the Lok Sabha.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Chalakudy Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Chalakudy

Sitting MP, Party: Innocent, Independent

Winning margin in 2014: 13,884

Runner up name, party: PC Chacko, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 885,037

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 72

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,070

Number of women voters: 4,47,321

First Published: Mar 17, 2019 12:31 IST