Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AR Rahman to be honoured with Japanese culture prize

AR Rahman will be honoured with the Grand Fukuoka Prize 2016 for his contribution to Asian culture.

music Updated: May 30, 2016 19:23 IST
AR Rahman,Grand Fukuoka Prize 2016,From the Heart: The World of AR Rahman’s Music
AR Rahman gets the award for his contribution to Asian culture. (AFP)

Music maestro AR Rahman has been awarded the Grand Fukuoka Prize 2016 for his outstanding contribution to Asian culture through his music. As part of the ceremony, Rahman has been invited to the city to give a public lecture on From the Heart: The World of AR Rahman’s Music.

The 49-year-old Oscar-winning composer has been chosen for the honour alongside Philippines’ historian Ameth R Ocampo (Academic Prize) and Yasmeen Lari from Pakistan (Arts and Culture Prize) by the secretariat of Fukuoka prize committee. The annual award, was established by Fukuoka City, Japan, in 1990 with an aim to honour the outstanding work of individuals, groups and organizations working to preserve and promote the unique and diverse culture of Asia.

Read: AR Rahman had to Google who Pele was, but it’s OK, he knows now

Read: Playing with Carlos Santana was epic, says AR Rahman

Rahman started his movie career with Mani Ratnam’s Tamil film Roja. Rahman’s first big break in Hindi cinema came with Ram Gopal Varma’s Rangeela. He is now one of the most sought after composers in India with his brilliant compositions for films like Bombay, Dil Se, Taal, Lagaan, Rang De Basanti, Delhi 6, Rockstar, Highway and Tamasha.

Listen to AR Rahman’s music from the film Tamasha here:

Rahman has carved an impressive career in Hollywood after composing Jai Ho for British director Danny Boyle’s Slumdog Millionaire, which earned him two Academy awards and a Golden Globe trophy.

Previous winners from India include distinguished names such as sitar player Ravi Shankar, dancer Padma Subrahmanyam, historian Romila Thapar, sarod maestro Amjad Ali Khan, Ashish Nandy, Partha Chatterjee, Vandana Shiva, Nalini Malini and historian Ramachandra Guha.

Other winners include Nobel laureates Muhammad Yunus (Bangladesh) and Mo Yan (China).

First Published: May 30, 2016 19:23 IST