Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 18, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indian rider KP Aravind to take part in 2018 Dakar Rally

Indian rider KP Aravind will test his wits against some of the world’s best at the 2018 Dakar Rally

other sports Updated: Nov 01, 2017 09:59 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
KP Aravind,2018 Dakar Rally,Raid de Himalaya
KP Aravind had won the prestigious Raid de Himalaya title in 2015.(HT Photo)

Top Indian rider KP Aravind, winner of the 2015 Raid de Himalaya, will take part in the 2018 Dakar Rally after debuting this year with Sherco TVS Factory Rally team at probably the toughest rally raid in the world.

Experienced Spaniard Joan Pedrero and Adrien Metge from France will be Aravind’s teammates for the January 6-20 event. The Sherco TVS team is aiming for a top-10 finish at Dakar 2018 in their fourth successive year, which will also be the 40th edition of Dakar Rally.

This year, the rally will cover three countries, beginning in Lima, Peru, and passing through La Paz, Bolivia, before finally culminating in Córdoba, Argentina, after having traversed a total distance of over 9,000 km.

READ | Andrea Dovizioso wins Malaysian GP, keeps MotoGP title race alive vs Marc Marquez

While this will be Aravind’s second Dakar, Pedrero will take part in his 10th and Metge his third edition.

“This year, despite breaking my wrist at the first stage, I managed to compete in Dakar Rally. In 2018, I am hoping to finish the rally which in itself a huge achievement. To surmount the challenges of Dakar, we have to train all-year round,” Aravind told Hindustan Times.

The Sherco TVS Factory Rally Team participated in four international rally raids this year – Baja Aragon, Merzouga Rally, PanAfrica Rally and OiLibya Rally of Morocco with commendable performances in each.

First Published: Oct 31, 2017 20:31 IST