Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 25, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Purulia was a Forward Bloc seat till 2014

Purulia will vote on May 12 in the Lok Sabha election 2019. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

constituency watch Updated: May 07, 2019 14:43 IST
Hindustan Times
PURULIA Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,PURULIA Profile,West Bengal General Elections 2019
Patna, India - January 18, 2019: An electoral officer demonstrates the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) during the review meeting of poll preparedness of the state for the upcoming general elections, in Patna, Bihar, India, on Friday, January 18, 2019. (Photo by Parwaz Khan / Hindustan Times)(Parwaz Khan /HT PHOTO)

Trinamool Congress’ Mriganko Mahato is the sitting member of Parliament from the Purulia parliamentary constituency in West Bengal.

Mriganko Mahato won the 2014 Lok Sabha election against the All India Forward Bloc’s Narhari Mahato to unseat the Left party’s domination on the Purulia seat. The Forward Bloc dominated the seat since 1977.

Mriganko Mahato will contest the Lok Sabha election 2019 once again from the Purulia seat in Purulia district of the eastern state known for the Chhau dance form.

Purulia will vote on May 12 in the Lok Sabha election 2019. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

ALSO READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Here are some facts about the Purulia Lok Sabha seat:

State: West Bengal

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Purulia

Polling date: May 12

2019 candidates: Dr Mriganka Mahato (Trinamool), Nepal Mahato (Congress), Narhari Mahato (Forward Bloc), Bikash Banerjee (BJP)

Sitting MP, party: Mriganko Mahato, Trinamool

Winning margin in 2014: 153,877

Runner up name, party: Narhari Mahato, Forward Bloc

Number of voters in 2014: 1,204,675

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 81.84%

Number of women voters in 2014: 707,175

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,857

First Published: Mar 26, 2019 18:11 IST