Today in New Delhi, India
May 22, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha election 2019: Thiruvallur constituency in Tamil Nadu has seen many changes

Tamil Nadu’s 39 parliamentary seats will go to polls in a single phase on April 18.

constituency watch Updated: Apr 12, 2019 15:26 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
New Delhi
Tiruvallur Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Tiruvallur Profile,Tamil Nadu General Elections 2019
NOIDA:::::27-FEBRUARY-2012:::::HT NEWS:::::Polling officers check electronic voting machines (EVM) at an EVM distribution centre in Phase 2, Noida on February 27, 2012. The sixth phase of assembly polls will be held in Uttar Pradesh on February 28. HT PHOTO BY: BURHAAN KINU(Hindustan Times)

The Thiruvallur Lok Sabha constituency is a reserved seat and was formed in 2008 after merging the assembly segments of Gummidipoondi, Ponneri (SC), Tiruvallur, and Poonamallee (SC), which were earlier part of Sriperumbudur constituency and the newly formed Avadi.

The constituency had previously existed for three elections from 1951 till 1962.

In 2014, the AIADMK candidate Dr P venugopla emerged victorious by defeating D. Ravikumar of the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi.

Tamil Nadu’s 39 parliamentary seats will go to polls in a single phase on April 18.

READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Here are some details about Tiruvallur Lok Sabha seat:

State: Tamil Nadu

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Tiruvallur

Polling date: April 18

2019 candidates: K Jayakumar (Congress), Dr.P.Venugopal (AIADMK),

Sitting MP, party: Dr. P. Venugopal, AIADMK

Winning margin in 2014: 322,430

Runner up name, party: D. Ravikumar, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi

Number of voters in 2014: 1,254,440

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 74%

Number of women voters in 2014: 608,905

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,806

First Published: Apr 10, 2019 18:40 IST