New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 22, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019

Elections Results 2019: Khargone constituency in Madhya Pradesh

The Khargone constituency will vote on May 19, the last phase of general election 2019 .

constituency-watch Updated: May 23, 2019 11:38 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Poll officials checking EVMs stored in a strong room.
Poll officials checking EVMs stored in a strong room.(HT file photo)

The Khargone Lok Sabha constituency, one of Madhya Pradesh’s 29 seats, came into existence in 1962. It covers the entire Barwani district and part of Khargone district.

The seat, resereved for Scheduled Tribes, is currently held by the BJP’s Subhash Patel, who in 2014 defeated Ramesh Patel of the Congress by more than 2.57 lakh votes.

Read: Full coverage of Lok Sabha election results 2019

The key candidates in the constituency for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are Gajendra Umrao Singh Patel of BJP and Dr Govind Subhan Mujalda of the Congress.

The constituency voted in the last phase of general election 2019 on May 19.

Currently, BJP’s Gajendra Umrao Singh Patel is leading in terms of vote counts in the constituency.

Here’s all you need to know about the Khargone Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Khargone

Date of polling: May 19

2019 candidates: Gajendra Umrao Singh Patel (BJP), Dr Govind Subhan Mujalda (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Subhash Patel (BJP)

Winning margin in 2014: 257,879

Runner up name, party: Ramesh Patel, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,152,674

Percentage of votes polled in 2014:67

Number of women voters: 538,114

Number of polling booths in 2014:1,877

First Published: May 14, 2019 14:05 IST

top news