Angelo Mathews provides ‘video evidence’ to prove umpires wrong in ‘timed out’ | Cricket - Hindustan Times
close_game
close_game

Angelo Mathews provides ‘video evidence’ to prove umpires wrong as timed out dismissal creates big World Cup controversy

Nov 07, 2023 01:05 PM IST

Angelo Mathews said he has video evidence to prove the umpires wrong in his controversial timed out dismissal against Bangladesh in a World Cup match.

Sri Lanka all-rounder Angelo Mathews provided screenshots of what he called 'video evidence' to prove the umpires wrong about his much controversial yet historical timed out dismissal in a World Cup 2023 match against Bangladesh at the Arun Jaitely Stadium in Delhi. In a never-before-seen bizarre incident in international cricket, Mathews was declared timed-out after Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan appealed. It transpired in the 25th over of the Sri Lanka innings. Shakib had just got the wicket of Sadeera Samarawickrama with the second ball of his over. In walked Mathews to the crease but before he could take his guard, he realised the strap of his helmet was broken and without taking permission from the umpires, he called for a new one. Seeing all this, the Bangladesh fielders decided to raise an appeal of time out against Mathews. After a long discussion including several pleas from Mathews to the umpires - Richard Illingworth and Marais Erasmus - and Shakib, the former Sri Lanka captain was declared timed out.

Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews in a discussion with the umpires after being timed out during the match against Bangladesh in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023, at Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Monday.(ANI)
Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews in a discussion with the umpires after being timed out during the match against Bangladesh in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023, at Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Monday.(ANI)

Mathews was seen flinging his helmet up in the air while entering the dugout and throwing his gloves and bat away in disgust. He became the first cricketer to be timed out in international cricket. After the incident sparked a never-ending debate

Hindustan Times - your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

What do the laws of cricket say about timed out dismissal?

Shakib and the Bangladesh players were not wrong in any to appeal as the laws of the game clearly state that the batter has to be ready to face the first ball within three minutes of the previous dismissal. In World Cups, however, the time is two minutes. The playing conditions do not mention any equipment malfunction as a possible leeway to the batter. Could Shakib have withdrawn the appeal? It was later revealed that the on-field umpires did ask Shakib twice but the Bangladesh captain decided to stand by his decision. When Shakib did not withdraw the appeal, should the umpires have taken Mathews' broken helmet strap into consideration and applied their discretion in giving him the benefit of the doubt?

Also Read | ‘I was at war’: Shakib Al Hasan clears the air on Mathews' controversial 'time out' dismissal at World Cup

Fourth umpire issues clarification, saying Mathews was timed out before the helmet's strap broke

Fourth umpire Adrian Holdstock gave clarification about all this and revealed that Mathews had already passed his allotted two minutes before he had issues with his helmet strap.

"ICC World Cup playing conditions supersede the MCC laws of cricket. When it comes to the timed out, at the fall of a wicket, or even retirement of a batter, the incoming batter has to be in position and ready to receive the ball within two minutes, or his other partner to receive the ball in two minutes," explained Holdstock in an interview with former West Indies pacer Ian Bishop.

"We have certain protocols where the TV umpire at the fall of the wicket, monitors the two minutes. And he will then relay the message to the on-field umpires. And in the instance this afternoon, the batter wasn't ready to receive the ball within those two minutes, even before the strap became an issue for him," said the fourth umpire.

"Yes, that's correct, the two minutes had already elapsed before he had received the next delivery," he added when Bishop asked him again about the timings.

"According to laws, the fielding captain initiated the appeal to Erasmus who was the stand-in umpire that he wanted to appeal for timed out. Just after the strap came loose, the fielding captain appealed for timed out.

"As a batter, you need to make sure you have all your equipment in place, in order to make sure you get here. Actually, you have to be ready to receive the ball within two minutes - not get ready or prepare to take your guard. Technically, you should be there within 15 seconds to make sure all these things are in place before you actually receive the ball," he added.

Mathews disagrees, and says he has video proof to support his claims

Mathews, however, refused to believe that. He took to social media to make his point loud and clear.

"4th umpire is wrong here! Video evidence shows I still had 5 more seconds even after the helmet gave away! Can the 4th umpire rectify this please? I mean safety is paramount as I just couldn’t face the bowler without a helmet," he wrote on X in reply to an ICC article about the reactions on the dismissal.

"Proof! From the time catch was taken and the time helmet strap coming off," he wrote in another response with screenshots of the time difference from the moment Samarawickrama was out and Mathews was standing on the crease.

Mathews, who was dismissed without facing a ball, did not hold back in the post-match press conference. He promised that the Sri Lankan team would come up with more 'video evidence' to support their claims.

"Within two minutes I was there. We have video evidence. We will put out a statement later on. We have video evidence, footage, and everything was looked at. I'm not just coming and saying things here. I'm talking with proof.

"So, we have the video evidence where from the time the catch was taken, and then from the time I walked into the crease, I still had five seconds after breaking my helmet. So, we talk about safety of the players - you guys tell me if It's right for me to take my guard without my helmet on? It's just pure common sense.

"That's why I think the umpires also had a bigger job at the time, because they could have at least gone back and checked. So, we talk about player safety. And a wicketkeeper for the spinner is not - they don't let him keep without his helmet. So how can I take my guard without my helmet? It's a complete equipment malfunction," Mathews said.

As far as the match was concerned, Sri Lanka posted 279 ridding on a century from Charith Asalanka. In reply, Shakib played a brilliant knock of 82 off 65 balls and Najmul Shanto hit 90 as Bangladesh reached home with three wickets in hand and 8.5 overs to spare.

Unlock a world of Benefits with HT! From insightful newsletters to real-time news alerts and a personalized news feed – it's all here, just a click away!- Login Now!
Catch all the Latest Cricket News, Live Cricket Score and IPL 2024 Schedule, WPL Live match updates along with Cricket Schedule, WPL 2024 and other related updates on Hindustan Times Website and APPs
SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON
Share this article
  • ABOUT THE AUTHOR
    author-default-90x90

    At HT Sports Desk, passionate reporters work round the clock to provide detailed updates from the world of sports. Expect nuanced match reports, previews,reviews, technical analysis based on statistics, the latest social media trends, expert opinions on cricket, football, tennis, badminton, hockey,motorsports, wrestling, boxing, shooting, athletics and much more.

SHARE
Story Saved
Live Score
OPEN APP
Saved Articles
Following
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, March 01, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On