Hyderabad take on Delhi tomorrow | cricket | Hindustan Times
  • Friday, Jun 22, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 21, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Hyderabad take on Delhi tomorrow

After a narrow defeat to Kolkata, Hyderabad squad would be aiming to register their first win in the IPL as they host Delhi team in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

cricket Updated: Apr 21, 2008 15:37 IST

After a narrow defeat to Kolkata IPL team, Hyderabad squad would be aiming to register their first win in the Indian Premier League as they host Delhi Daredevils in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

The home side will have a big advantage in their game against the Delhi outfit as explosive Pakistani import Shahid Afridi will join the team for Tuesday's clash at Rajiv Gandhi international stadium.

Apart from Afridi, the Chargers have a strong batting line-up consisting of captain VVS Laxman, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Y Venugopal Rao, Rohit Sharma and Ranji players DB Ravi Teja and Kalyan Krishna.

The bowling department also looks impressive with the presence of Scott Styris, Chaminda Vaas, RP Singh and talented Hyderabad left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who took crucial wickets of Sourav Ganguly and Mohd Hafeez in their first match against the Knight Riders.

The Delhi Daredevils led by Virender Sehwag are on a high after their convincing victory over Rajasthan Royals in Delhi.
The Daredevils will have the likes of AB de Villiers, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Asif, Tillakratne Dilshan and Abdul Razzak, who missed the first match against the Rajasthan team, will join the squad.

The Rajiv Gandhi stadium is braced up for the occasion with the light towers becoming formally functional last week. With a capacity to accommodate 40,000 spectators, the venue is going to have its share of the high voltage entertainment dished so far in the IPL.

Teams (from):

Hyderabad IPL team: VVS Laxman (Captain), Scott Styris, Adam Gilchrist (Wicketkeeper), H Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Sanjay Bangar, Rohit Sharma, Chamara Silva, Y Venugopal Rao, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Zoysa, Haldhar Das (wk), D Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, DB Raviteja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, RP Singh, P Vijay Kumar and Arjun Yadav. Coach: Robin Singh

Delhi IPL team: Virender Sehwag (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Manoj Tiwari, Daniel Vettori, Shoaib Malik, Dinesh Kartik, Glenn McGrath, Mohammed Asif, Ferveez Meharoof, Pradeep Sangwan, Brett Geeves, Rajat Bhatia, Shikar Dhawan, Yo Mahesh, Tillakratne Dilshad, Abdul Razzak, Mithun Manhas, Mayank Tehlan, Amit Mishra, Tejaswi Yadav, A B de Villiers and Yogesh Nagar. Coach: Greg Shipperd.