India vs West Indies: Jasprit Bumrah becomes third Indian to scalp Test hat-trick
Ind vs Wi: Jasprit Bumrah’s early burst against Windies put India firmly on top in the second Test.Updated: Sep 01, 2019 09:17 IST
Pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah became only the third Indian to scalp a Test hat-trick during the second day of second Test against West Indies at Sabina Park in Jamaica on Saturday. Bumrah accounted for the wickets of Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks and Roston Chase in the ninth over of the Windies innings to etch his name in history books. Bumrah’s early burst against Windies put India firmly on top in the second Test.Before Bumrah, only Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan had scalped hat-tricks in the longest format for India. Also, his hat-trick was the 44th in Test history and the first since England spinner Moeen Ali against South Africa in 2017.
Test hat-tricks for India
Harbhajan Singh vs Australia (Kolkata 2001)
Irfan Pathan vs Pakistan (Karachi 2006)
Jasprit Bumrah vs Windies (Kingston 2019)
In the ninth over the innings, Bumrah started the carnage by getting rid of Darren Bravo on the second delivery as the southpaw edged the ball into the hands of KL Rahul in slips.
Shamarh Brooks got a fiery first delivery upfront from Bumrah as the ball crashed into his pads before he could do anything. The umpire gave the LBW decision in India’s favour out but the batsman opted to use the Decision Review System (DRS). Replays showed that the ball was hitting the leg stump and Windies lost their review.
On the hat-trick ball, Roston Chase was trapped in front of the wicket by Bumrah but the India pacer didn’t appeal, thinking the ball had hit the batsman’s willow first. Umpire Paul Reifel too adjudged it as not out. This is where Kohli — who was fielding at second slip — came into the picture and seemingly asked Bumrah if he was sure the batsman had connected with the ball before it crashed into the pads.
Before Bumrah could even answer, Kohli asked for the DRS to come into play. Replays showed that the ball hadn’t nicked the bat and went onto hit the pad straightaway. Ball tracking showed it was hitting the leg stump and so the decision was overturned and Bumrah’s hat-trick was complete, with the help of his skipper of course.
First Published: Sep 01, 2019 01:47 IST