MS Dhoni, BCCI’s unanimous choice, nominated for Padma Bhushan award

MS Dhoni has been nominated by the BCCI for the Padma Bhushan. He led India to the 2007 World Twenty20 and 2011 Cricket World Cup triumphs.

cricket Updated: Sep 20, 2017 15:30 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
MS Dhoni,BCCI,Padma Bhushan
MS Dhoni has been nominated by the BCCI for the country’s third highest civilian honour, the Padma Bhushan. Dhoni has led Indian cricket team to two World Cups and a Champions Trophy title.(Getty Images)

MS Dhoni has been nominated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India for the country’s third highest civilian award -- the Padma Bhushan -- for his contribution to the game.

A senior BCCI official confirmed that the BCCI has only sent one name for the Padma awards this year and it was a unanimous decision to nominate India’s most successful captain.

MS Dhoni has been nominated by the BCCI for the Padma Bhushan award. It was a unanimous decision by the members. He has been one of the greatest names in contemporary cricket and the most appropriate choice of the Indian cricket board,” BCCI acting president CK Khanna told PTI today.

READ | India vs Australia: Steve Smith dismisses Michael Clarke’s concerns over captaincy

MS Dhoni’s credentials are impeccable and as the only Indian captain with two World titles (2011 50-over Cricket World Cup and 2007 World T20), the BCCI did not have to ponder over likely names.

“He is one of our greatest ODI cricketer with nearly 10,000 runs. Not many players have played 90 Test matches. There is no one better than him, who could have been nominated,” Khanna added.

MS Dhoni has been in fine form of late, also helping India win the first ODI against Australia in Chennai on Sunday. (Reuters)

The BCCI has not sent any other nominations for the Padma awards this year.

The 36-year-old has scored 9737 runs in 302 ODIs besides 4,876 runs in 90 Test matches. He has also played 78 T20 Internationals, notching up 1212 runs.

He has 16 international hundreds (6 in Tests and 10 in ODIs) along with 100 international half-centuries.

READ | Indian cricket team’s true test will be in England: Farokh Engineer

As a wicketkeeper, MS Dhoni has held 584 catches across formats (256 in Tests, 285 in ODIs and 43 in T20 Internationals). He has also effected 163 stumpings.

MS Dhoni is already a recipient of the prestigious Arjuna, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and the Padma Shri award.

If MS Dhoni is conferred with Padma Bhushan, he will become the 11th Indian cricketer to get the third highest civilian honour.

READ | England cricket team batsman’s Twitter war with ex-Windies pacer turns nasty

Some of the notable international cricketers, who have been the recipients of Padma Bhushan award are Sachin Tendulkar, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Rahul Dravid, Chandu Borde, Prof DB Deodhar, Col CK Nayudu, and Lala Amarnath.

The lesser known names include Raja Bhalindra Singh of Patiala, who played 13 first-class matches, and Vijaya Anand -- the Maharaja of Vizianagram, who was India’s captain during their 1936 tour to England.

First Published: Sep 20, 2017 13:39 IST