Pakistan Cricket Board elects Najam Sethi as the next chairman
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pakistan Cricket Board elects Najam Sethi as the next chairman

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced Najam Sethi as its new chairman. The unanimous decision was taken at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) presided by current chairman Shaharyar Khan.

cricket Updated: May 26, 2017 14:20 IST
Pakistan Cricket Board,PCB,Najam Sethi
Najam Sethi, who was announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) as its unanimous choice for the chairman’s post (after current chairman Shaharyar Khan steps down), was also the chariman of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), the second edition of which was held in the UAE and Pakistan earlier this year.(Getty Images)

Najam Sethi was approved on Thursday as the unanimous choice to be the next Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman at its Annual General Meeting.

Sethi would succeed Shaharyar Khan as the PCB chief.

The AGM, which takes place twice a year, also passed a resolution recommending Sethi to be conferred with a Pride of Performance award by the government for his contribution to Pakistan cricket.

Shaharyar made it clear at the AGM that he didn’t want to continue as chairman after his three-year term ends in August due to personal and health reasons.

The resolution was passed at a time when they are stories being circulated in the media that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif is looking at other candidates to succeed Shahrayar.

“Perhaps pre-empting the situation, Sethi managed to get this resolution passed which basically confirms that he is very popular in the cricket board,” an insider said.

Sethi announced at the meeting that eight matches of the third PSL would be held in Lahore and Karachi (four each) while some 30 parties had submitted bids to buy the sixth franchise of the league.

The AGM had its own share of goof-ups when it confirmed Asmavia Iqbal as the best women cricketer of the year although the fast bowler was dropped for tours to New Zealand and Australia last year and also for the World Cup qualifiers due to bad form.

First Published: May 26, 2017 09:04 IST