Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sri Lanka win toss, bat first in crucial Test against India

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first on the opening day of the second cricket test against India today. Gautam Gambhir suffering with knee injury and Yuvraj Singh down with high fever are not in team. Suresh Raina will make his Test debut after appearing in 98 ODIs.

cricket Updated: Jul 26, 2010 11:47 IST

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat in the second cricket Test against India at the Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo on Monday.

Sri Lanka made four changes in the side from their 10-wicket win over India in the first Test at Galle.

The hosts have brought in pace duo of Dilhara Fernando and Dammika Prasad in place of injured Lasith Malinga and Chamara Welegedara, while Ajantha Mendis and off-spinner Suraj Randiv have replaced retired Muttiah Muralitharan and Rangana Herath.

India, too was forced to make two changes in their playing eleven as opener Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh were ruled out of the match due to health issues.

While Gambhir failed to recover from a troublesome knee, Yuvraj was down with fever. Murali Vijay and Suresh Raina, who will make his Test debut, were drafted into the side in their places.


Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tharanga Paranavitana, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene, Damika Prasad, Dilhara Fernando, Suraj Randiv, Ajuantha Mendis.

India: M S Dhoni (capt), Virender Sehwag, Murali Vijay, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha.

First Published: Jul 26, 2010 09:58 IST