Vijay Hazare Trophy: Manoj Tiwary wins it for Bengal, helps Delhi enter quarters
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Manoj Tiwary wins it for Bengal, helps Delhi enter quarters

Skipper Manoj Tiwary led from the front as his century helped Bengal defeat Himachal Pradesh by six wickets in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The lost cost Himachal Pradesh a quarterfinal berth, while it helped Delhi to make the cut.

cricket Updated: Feb 17, 2018 20:44 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Dharamsala
Vijay Hazare Trophy,Manoj Tiwary,Ishant Sharma
Manoj Tiwary’s unbeaten 104 guided Bengal to a six-wicket win over Himachal Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. (Twitter )

Delhi on Saturday got a fresh lease of life as they qualified for the Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-finals after Manoj Tiwary’s unbeaten 104 helped Bengal beat Himachal Pradesh by six wickets in a Group B encounter on Saturday.

Maharashtra are the second team from the group to have qualified for the knockout stages.

Delhi had finished their group league engagements with 16 points from six matches with successive defeats in their final two encounters.

(Read | Indian cricket team to play 30 ODIs in build-up to ICC World Cup next season)

There were three teams -- HP, Maharashtra and Keraka -- locked on 14 points from five games. The Maharashtra versus Kerala match was a virtual pre-quarter-final while Himachal needed a win against Bengal to qualify.

Delhi would be grateful to Tiwary and Abhimanyu Easwaran (90) for chasing down a target of 267 with minimum fuss in 48 overs.

(Read | Virat Kohli doesn’t want to live in dreamland ahead of T20 series vs South Africa)

Easwaran (10 fours, 109 balls) and Tiwary (10 fours, 2 sixes, 107 balls) added 131 runs for the third wicket to ensure a smooth passage for Ishant Sharma’s team.

In another clash at Bilaspur, Maharashtra crushed Kerala by 98 runs to make it to the last eight phase, which starts in Delhi from February 21.

(Read | Eoin Morgan to take it slow with Ben Stokes and backs Adil Rashid)

Batting first, Maharashtra scored 273 in 37 overs with Naushad Sheikh smashing 76. In reply, Kerala were all out for 175 with Sanju Samson scoring 46. Pacer Shrikant Mundhe grabbed 5 for 26.

Brief Scores

Himachal Pradesh 266/8 (Priyanshu Khanduri 74, Alok Pratap Singh 4/53) lost to Bengal 266/4 in 48 overs (Manoj Tiwary 104 no, Abhimanyu Easwaran 90) by 6 wickets.

Maharashtra 273/8 in 37 overs (naushad Sheikh 76, Ankit Bawne 43) beat Kerala 175 in 29.2 overs (Sanju Samson 46) by 98 runs.

UP 357/8 in 50 overs (Akshdeep Nath 87, Aryan Juyal 69, Rinku Singh 91) beat Tripura 296/9 in 50 overs (Yashpal Singh 110, J Banik 50) by 61 runs.

First Published: Feb 17, 2018 20:44 IST