Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

DSK Shivajians FC beat Bengaluru FC to enter Nike Premier Cup 2018 final

DSK Shivajians FC defeated Bengaluru FC on penalties to reach the Nike Premier Cup 2018 final.

football Updated: Feb 06, 2018 16:23 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Margao
DSK Shivajians FC,Bengaluru FC,Premier Cup 2018 final
DSK Shivajians reached the Nike Premier Cup 2018 final after defeating Bengaluru FC.(AIFF)

It was jubilation for DSK Shivajians FC as they beat Bengaluru FC 5-4 in a penalty shootout to enter the finals of the Nike Premier Cup 2018 which is organised by the All India Football Federation.

The result saw Bengaluru FC lose the opportunity to advance to their first-ever final despite being dominant throughout the 90 minutes.

READ | Injury-hit Vincent Kompany only motivated to play for Manchester City

Bengaluru FC started out strong, pressing and harrying the DSK Shivajians into losing possession and playing loose passes.

The two sides restricted each other to half-chances and ended up cancelling each other out. In the end, it went down to the wire.

With a penalty shootout needed to declare a winner, Bengaluru FC took the first kick. Arkaprabha Das, Aryan Sonowal, Manish Chaudhary and Lalhmunmawia scored for them while Saikat Das missed.

READ | Manchester United remember fallen heroes 60 years on from Munich air disaster

Seigoumang Doungel, Sonminthang Haokip, Mintu Mech and Rewang Lepcha scored for DSK in the shootout with Bawi Rou Sang missing.

Both teams locked at 4-4, it was sudden-death and Shresth Joshi’s miss for Bengaluru FC helped Zamlunmang of Shivajians win the game for the Pune-outfit.

First Published: Feb 06, 2018 16:23 IST