Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 15, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

FIFA Puskas award: Watch the top ten goals of the year

An outrageous scorpion kick in the Swedish league and efforts from Lionel Messi and Neymar. Here is the shortlist for FIFA’s goal of the year Puskas award.

football Updated: Nov 22, 2016 11:50 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Neymar,Lionel Messi,Barcelona
Neymar and Lionel Messi, two-thirds of Barcelona’s lethal MSN strikeforce, have made the shortlist.(Getty Images)

It’s that time of the year again. FIFA have announced the shortlist for the Puskas award. The award, created in 2009 in honour of Ferenc Puskás, the captain and star of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s, is given to the best goal of the year. And, like always, the nominations make for enthralling viewing. Here are the ten contenders. Take your pick.

Mario Gaspar: Nov 13, 2015 Spain v. England, international friendly

Galloping forwards from defence, Gaspar watched a chipped Cesc Fabregas through ball fall over his shoulder before hitting a spinning scissor kick in mid-air past a diving Joe Hart.

Hlompho Kekana: March 26, 2016 Cameroon v. South Africa, Africa Cup of Nations qualifier

With trademark tenacity, Kekana won the ball from Cameroon’s Tony Tchani, looked up, and hit a powerful, gliding effort over stranded ‘keeper Ndy Assembe.

Marlone: April 21, 2016 Corinthians v. Cobresal, Copa Libertadores

Edilson burst down the Corinthians right and delivered a cross slightly behind the No8. Marlone chested the ball in the air and, quick as a flash despite being closed down by Rodrigo Urena, scissor-kicked the ball in mid-air toward goal, seeing it fly past Sebastian Cuerdo.

Lionel Messi: June 21, 2016 USA v Argentina, Copa América Centenario semi-final

A 25-yard stunner, taken from the left of the penalty area, hit towards the side in which the goalkeeper, Brad Guzan was standing. The effort was centimetre-perfect, meaning the USA stopper’s dive to keep it out was in vain. With the goal, Messi moved past Gabriel Batistuta as his country’s leading goalscorer.

Neymar: August 08, 2015 Barcelona v. Villarreal, La Liga (Spain)

The ball went from penalty area to penalty area in ten seconds in a brutal Barça counter-attack, with Luis Suarez bursting down the left wing against the Yellow Submarine. His cross infield found Neymar and, three swift touches, and an awesome demonstration of technique, later, the ball was in the net beyond Alphonse Areola.

Saúl Ñíguez: April 27, 2016, Atlético Madrid v. Bayern Munich, UEFA Champions League

Saul Niguez picked the ball up just inside the Bavarians’ half, faced by a wall of black shirts. He shrugged off the challenge of Thiago Alcantara, danced between Juan Bernat and Xabi Alonso, before bursting into the penalty area. Faced with David Alaba, the No17 opened up his body and curled an effort past Manuel Neuer, despite Arturo Vidal’s despairing dive.

Hal Robson-Kanu: July 01, 2016, Wales v. Belgium, UEFA EURO 2016

Ramsey dinked a cross into Robson-Kanu who, being tightly marked by Thomas Meunier, produced a superb Cruyff turn which wrongfooted not only Meunier, but Jason Denayer and Marouane Fellaini, before curling past Thibaut Courtois.

Daniuska Rodríguez: March 14, 2016, Venezuela v. Colombia, South American U-17 Women’s Football Championship

The midfielder worked her way into the Colombian penalty area, twisted and turned her way past the challenges of Sofia Montoya and Manuela Vanegas with some intricate footwork, before blasting the ball into the roof of the net.

Simon Skrabb: October 31, 2015, Gefle v. Åtvidaberg, Allsvenskan league, Sweden

Kristian Bergstrom’s cross into the Gefle penalty area was slightly behind the No14, who had darted into space between the opposition’s central defenders. Improvising magnificently, Skrabb – in one movement – paused, hopped and flicked the ball past Emil Hedvall.

Mohd Faiz Subri: February 16, 2016, Penang v. Pahang, Malaysia Super League

The diminutive No13, a prolific goalscorer in the Malaysian Super League, hammered his effort goalwards, struck in a ‘knuckleball’ manner, producing a swerve so wicked that goalkeeper Mohd Nasril Nourdin stood no chance.

Users will be able to choose from the ten goals until 2 December, when the three goals with the most votes will be disclosed. Immediately after the announcement, users will be able to vote again for their favourite from the three remaining goals. The winner will be revealed at the Ballon d’Or awards in Zurich on 9 January 2017.

First Published: Nov 22, 2016 10:42 IST