New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 21, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Sep 21, 2019

Shiv Sena seeks disqualification of 3 MLAs

Shiv Sena asked Maharashtra Assembly Speaker to disclose names of party MLAs, who indulged in cross voting.

india Updated: Jun 14, 2006 23:05 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Shiv Sena on Wednesday asked Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Speaker Babasaheb Kupekar to disclose names of party MLAs, who indulged in cross voting in the recent Legislative Council election.

Although the numbers were in favour of Sena in election to elect 11 MLCs from among assembly members held on June 1, a Sena candidate was defeated as 20 of the 58 Sena MLAs did not give their first preference votes to party candidates.

Sena has asked the Speaker to scrutinise the ballot papers and disclose names of Sena MLAs who defied the party whip, party sources said.

A Sena delegation, led by Leader of Opposition Ramdas Kadam and party's chief whip Gajanan Kirtikar met the Speaker at Vidhan Bhawan on Wednesday afternoon.

The Sena leaders asked the Speaker for disqualification of three Sena MLAs, Vijay Vadettiwar, Prakash Bharsakhle and Vinayak Nimhan, for six years as they defied the whip and voted in the poll despite being asked to abstain from voting, the sources said.

First Published: Jun 14, 2006 23:05 IST