Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Vengsarkar is BCCI's new chief selector

Vengsarkar, a former captain, takes over the hot seat from controversial Kiran More whose term has come to an end, writes G Krishnan.

india Updated: Oct 09, 2006 14:37 IST
G Krishnan

Dilip Vengsarkar, one of India’s most successful batsmen ever, was expectedly appointed chairman of the senior selection committee, replacing West Zone colleague Kiran More.

Selection committees have rarely had chairmen who have had such a distinguished professional record and it would be interesting to see how Vengsarkar, a man with very decided views on several fronts, will manage matters just ahead of the World Cup.

What will probably be helpful is the fact that the Mumbaikar would have a sound knowledge of the talent available around the country because of his stint as a Talent Research Development Officer.

The only other change to the five-member committee was again no surprise, with former India left-arm spinner Venkatapathy Raju replacing South Zone mate from Tamil Nadu, VB Chandrashekhar.

The other members of the committee — Ranjib Biswal (East), Sanjay Jagdale (Central) and Bhupinder Singh Sr (North) — retain their places till the next elections in September 2008. They will, however, get a year’s extension if their performance is found satisfactory.

Former Test bowler Sanjeev Sharma has been appointed the chairman of the junior selection committee. The other members of the committee are Kajol Das (East), V hamundeswaranath (South), Rakesh Parikh (West) and Kailash Gattani (Central).

Meanwhile, what should have been a two-day BCCI AGM was over inside half a day with its office bearers Sharad Pawar (President), Niranjan Shah (Honorary Secretary), MP Pandove (Honorary Joint Secretary) and N Srinivasan (Treasurer) being elected unanimously for a two-year period as per the amended constitution.

The five vice-presidents elected were Lalit Modi (North), Dayanand Narvekar (South), Rajeev Shukla (East), Chirayu Amin (West), Shashank Manohar (Central).

The BCCI also named Mumbai Cricket Association treasurer Professor Ratnakar Shetty as the Executive Secretary for a five-year period. Shetty has been elevated from the post of the executive secretary-in-charge, which was an honorary post, to what will now be a full-time, paid post. Shetty will be the administrative head and work under the office bearers of the Board, his term running till after the 2011 World Cup that India is co-hosting.

Another noticeable move from the AGM was Sunil Gavaskar being replaced by Kapil Dev as the chairman of the National Cricket Academy Board. Gavaskar has been the chairman of the NCA Board for the last five years. Gavaskar, however, retains his post as the chairman of the technical committee.

The BCCI also appointed former Test umpire S Venkataraghavan as the director of Umpires Development Programme. This is not an honorary job and Venkatarghavan will be assisted by one retired Test umpire from each of the five zones to develop the standard of umpiring and for the standardisation of umpiring in the country.

The ICC Executive Board meeting will be held in Mumbai on November 4, a day before the Champions Trophy final. The BCCI is proposing to inaugurate its headquarters at the MCA premises and also host the annual CK Nayudu award ceremony on the same day.

First Published: Sep 27, 2006 20:15 IST