Nitish Kumar not a member of CMs panel for digital payments, Nilekani in | india-news | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Nitish Kumar not a member of CMs panel for digital payments, Nilekani in

black money crackdown Updated: Nov 30, 2016 23:45 IST
Aloke Tikku
CMs panel

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar addresses a rallyin Motihari.(PTI Photo)

The Centre announced on Wednesday a committee of chief ministers headed by Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu to come up with a roadmap for implementing the digital payments system in India.

The panel also has former UIDAI chairman Nandan Nilekani as a special invitee. Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar is not a member of the panel, as was believed earlier

The government said the panel would be represented from different political parties to examine and implement measures to implement digital payment systems for promoting transparency, financial inclusion and ensuring a healthy financial ecosystem. The chief ministers’ involvement will ensure there is political consensus around the initiative driven by the Prime Minister’s Office.

The panel’s role
  • Identify global best practices for implementing an economy primarily based on digital payment.
  • Outline measures for rapid expansion and adoption of the system of digital payments such as cards, e-wallets and internet banking with roadmap for one year.
  • Come up with the action plan to reach out to the public and help them understand benefits of digital economy.
  • Prepare a roadmap for state government to facilitate adoption of digital modes of payment.
  • Identify bottlenecks and solutions.
  • Associate key stakeholders for implementation of the suggested steps.
  • Delineate and adopt measures evolved by the Committee of Officers constituted for the purpose.

The other chief ministers in the panel are Naveen Patnaik (Odisha), Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Madhya Pradesh), Pawan Kumar Chamling (Sikkim), V Narayanasamy (Puducherry) and Devendra Fadnavis (Maharashtra).

Arvind Panagariya, vice-chairman of NITI Aayog, is also a member of the panel.

The chief ministers’ panel will steer clear of the fallout of demonetisation of Rs 500 and Rs 1000 banknotes.

Chairman of Boston Consulting Group Janmejaya Sinha, managing director of netCORE Rajesh Jain, co-founder of iSpirit Sharad Sharma, and Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, professor Jayant Varma are the other special invitees to the panel.