Gujarat election: CM Patel aims for second-time win from Ghatlodia constituency

Dec 08, 2022 06:12 AM IST

CM Bhupendra Patel is up against Congress' Amee Yagnik and AAP's Vijay Patel from here.

The incumbent chief minister Bhupendra Patel is contesting from the Ghatlodia assembly segment from the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) ticket. It is a part of the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency, and former chief minister Anandiben Patel also contested from this constituency earlier.

Gujarat election 2022: Ghatlodia assembly constituency details. File
Gujarat election 2022: Ghatlodia assembly constituency details. File

Patel, who replaced Vijay Rupani as the chief minister in September 2021, is up against the Rajya Sabha MP Amee Yagnik of Congress and Vijay Patel of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The area is dominated by Patidar and Rabari communities.

Click here for full coverage of Gujarat assembly election 2022

In 2017, 13 candidates contested for Ghatlodia assembly constituency seat and it was one of 99 seats won by the BJP. It was a one-way contest with BJP's Patel Bhupendrabhai Rajnikant comfortably winning the election defeating Congress's Patel Shashikant (BHURABHAI) by a huge margin of 1,17,750 votes.

98.3% of the total votes were casted to the top two candidates. The BJP candidate got a total of 1,75,652 votes, while the Congress candidate got 57,902 votes. Bahujan Samaj Party's candidate Thakor Budhaji Gabhaji grabbed 1,105 votes to finish at the third place. The top three parties secured 73.9%, 24.4% and 0.5% respectively.

Click here to check out full constituency list of Gujarat assembly election 2022

In Gujarat Assembly election 2012, BJP's Patel Anandiben Mafatbhai beat Congress's Patel Rameshbhai Prahladbhai (DUDHWALA) by 1,10,395 votes.


    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, March 31, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals