Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 25, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Election Results 2019: Guna constituency in Madhya Pradesh

The Guna Lok Sabha constituency has been the Scindia family’s bastion for decades.

constituency watch Updated: May 23, 2019 10:48 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Guna Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Guna Profile,Madhya Pradesh Guna General Elections 2019
A voter gets her finger marked with indelible ink before casting her vote at a polling station in Madhya Pradesh.(PTI photo)

The Guna Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 29 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Guna Lok Sabha constituency was won by Congress’s Jyotiraditya Scindia, who defeated his closest competitor Jaibhansingh Pawaiya of the BJP by a margin of 120,792 votes.

This time around, Scindia is once again seeking re-election from the constituency.

See: Lok Sabha Election Results Live Updates

Guna has forever been a bastion of the Scindia family and its latest incumbent, Jyotiraditya Scindia is looking to continue the tradition by winning the seat.

The BJP, meanwhile, has fielded Dr. K.P. Yadav as its candidate from the Guna Lok Sabha constituency in elections 2019.

Here’s all you need to know about the Guna Lok Sabha Constituency

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Guna

Date of Polling: May 12

Contesting Candidates: Jyotiraditya Scindia (Congress), Dr KP Yadav (BJP), Lokendra Singh Rajput (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Jyotiraditya Scindia, Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 120,792

Runner up name, party: Jaibhansingh Pawaiya, BJP

Number of voters in 2014: 977,619

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 69

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,919

Number of women voters: 395,144

First Published: May 09, 2019 13:34 IST