Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 18, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Choudhary era in JSCA ends, Kuldeep new boss

The 15-year-old stint of Amitabh Choudhary in Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) has come to an end following the Lodha Committee’s stricture

ranchi Updated: Feb 18, 2017 14:28 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Ranchi
Amitabh Choudhary,JSCA,Ranchi
Newly elected president of Jharkhand State Cricket Association - Kuldip Singh in Ranchi(HT Photo)

The 15-year-old stint of Amitabh Choudhary in Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) has come to an end. Following the Lodha Committee’s stricture that disallows a person to continue in an administrative post of BCCI or its state unit for more than nine years, Choudhary relinquished the post of JSCA president on Thursday.

Kuldip Singh, secretary Gumla District Cricket Association and former vice president of JSCA, has replaced him.

The decision was taken after a marathon meeting of JSCA where members unanimously nominated Singh as Choudhary’s successor.

Similarly, JSCA secretary Rajesh Verma also vacated his chair for Debashish Chakraborty as he had continued in the post for more than nine years.

A senior JSCA official said the new committee list would be send to the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) CEO Rahul Johri for his perusal and necessary action.

Talking to Hindustan Times, the newly nominated president said that development of cricket and cricketers in the state would be his priority. “First and foremost, there is a big challenge of conducting the forthcoming Australia-India test match scheduled at the International Stadium Complex, Ranchi from March 16 to 20 here. It would be our endeavor to live up to the expectations of cricket lovers on the mega occasion.”

Singh said, the outgoing president’s contribution to cricket in the state remains unparalleled and to maintain the standard will be tough job for him and the new team. “All the top Jharkhand players excelling in both international and IPL matches including MS Dhoni, Saurabh Tiwary, Varun Aaron, Ishan Kishan, Ishank Jaggi, Shahbaaz Nadeem and Vivekanand Tiwary were his discoveries,” Singh added.

First Published: Feb 18, 2017 14:28 IST