Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 26, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India vs Pak Women’s WT20 highlights: Hosts crawl to 96/7

India vs Pak Women’s WT20 Live: Hosts lose toss, put in to bat

world t20 Updated: Mar 19, 2016 17:14 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
ICC Women's World T20,India vs Pakistan,Sana Mir
Indian women’s cricket team member Jhulan Goswami during practice ahead of the World T20 match against Pakistan.(Mohd Zakir/HT Photo)


Over 20: Shikha hits a scoop six to help India finish with 96/7.

(Follow Pakistan’s chase)

19.6 Asmavia Iqbal to Pandey, OUT

Speared in outside off, pushed back to the bowler. Jhulan comes down for one but the bowler has an easy task to get the run-out

Over 19: 6 off the over. 86/6

Over 18: 5 off the over and Patil’s wicket. 80/6

17.6 Anam Amin to Patil, OUT

Reverse swept to point. Anuja comes down for a run but is sent back and the throw to the keeper is good this time. The keeper does the rest. Well-executed stroke but failed to find the gap

Over 17: 5 off the over and Veda’s wicket. 75/5

16.2 Sana Mir to Krishnamurthy, OUT

Gone. Veda has smashed it back to Mir who holds on. Flat and wide, Veda comes down and gives it a good thwack but hits it straight into Mir’s lap.

Over 16: 14 runs off the over. 70/4

Over 15: 8 off the over and Harmanpreet’s wicket. 56/4

14.1 Sadia Yousuf to Kaur, OUT

Another wicket. Kaur goes after a slow 16. Runs down to the pitch to get close, she goes after it but doesn’t time it anywhere near the way she would have wanted to. The bat ace turns in her hand and the ball lobs down to long-off. Another nice catch.

Over 14: 6 off the over. 48/3

Over 13: 5 runs off the over. 42/3

Over 12: 3 off the over and Mithali Raj’s wicket. 37/3

11.2 Nida Dar to Raj, OUT

Oh my. Mithali has picked out midwicket to absolute perfection. A naughty full toss on middle, Mithali swats it away but doesn’t keep it down or gets enough to clear the fielder. Straight to her and Pakistan have a timely wicket

Over 11: 7 off the over. 34/2

Over 10: A good over for India, 9 off it. 27/2

Over 9: 1 off the over. 18/2

Over 8: 7 off the over. 17/2

Over 7: 3 off the over. 10/2

Over 6: Just 1 off the over. 7/2

Over 5: Just 1 off the over. 6/2

Over 4: 1 run and Mandhana’s wicket. Not a good start for India. 5/2

3.3 Asmavia Iqbal to Mandhana, OUT

Big shout and given. Another one for Pakistan. Bowls this one straighter on middle and leg, Mandhana walks across to clip through the leg side but misses. Struck in front of middle. But was that sliding down leg? No, says the umpire. Big big wicket.

Over 3: 1 run and Vanitha’s wicket. India 4/1

2.3 Anam Amin to Vanitha, OUT

Gone this time. Lots of pressure was created after Vanitha repeatedly found the fielders. Advances down the track again, but Anam shortened the length just enough. Vanitha could only swat it away in the air but straight to midwicket. Early strike for Pakistan and they arepumped

Over 2: 1 run off Asmavia Iqbal’s first over. 3/0

Over 1: 2 off Anam Amin’s first over. India 2/0

Pakistan women’s cricket captain Sana Mir won the toss and opted to bowl first in the ICC Women’s World T20 encounter against India at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi on Saturday.

Mir explained her decision, saying she didn’t expect the pitch to change too much and she would like to know the kind of total her team would be chasing.

Mir’s Indian counterpart Mithali Raj said her batters were in good form and she would like to capitalise on that.

India are fielding an unchanged team from the one that won the opener against Bangladesh.

Pakistan, however, lost a close opener to West Indies by four runs. The Pakistan women, therefore, need a win to stay alive in the tournament.



Mithali Raj (captain), Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Shikha Pandey, Anuja Patil, Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Vellaswamy Vanitha, Sushma Verma (wicketkeeper)


Sana Mir (captain), Anam Amin, Asmavia Iqbal, Bismah Maroof, Iram Javed, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Nida Dar, Sadia Yousuf, Sidra Ameen, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper)

First Published: Mar 19, 2016 15:20 IST