Here's what you want to know about Andhra Pradesh's bifurcation | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Here's what you want to know about Andhra Pradesh's bifurcation

india Updated: Jun 02, 2014 09:01 IST
Prasad Nichenametla

After being together for around 58 years, Telangana and Seemandhra parted ways on Monday. The united Andhra Pradesh state was formed on November 1, 1956, by the merger of these two regions. With Telangana becoming the country's 29th state, here's a ready reckoner on some interesting facts about the two states post-bifurcation.

Chief ministers: K Chandrasekhara Rao will take oath as the chief minister of Telangana at 8:15am on Monday at the Raj Bhavan in Hyderabad. The CM-designate for residual AP, Nara Chandrababu Naidu, will take oath on June 8 near Guntur in Seemandhra. The residual state will retain the name Andhra Pradesh.

Governor: The present governor, ESL Narasimhan, has been given charge of the two states.

President's rule: Central rule was imposed on March 1 in Andhra Pradesh after N Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned as the CM of the state. President's Rule was lifted in Telangana on June 1 midnight, while it would continue till June 7 in Seemandhra.

Capital: Hyderabad will serve as the common capital for both states for 10 years. Thereafter, it will be in Telangana. However, the Seemandhra capital is expected to come up in a couple of years - most probably between Guntur and Vijayawada (two major towns separated by about 35kms). Till then, the government buildings in Hyderabad will be shared by the two states.

Secretariat: A, B, C and D blocks of the present secretariat would house the Telangana government. Rao will operate from the CM's chamber in the C block. On the other hand, H, J, K and L blocks would house the Andhra Pradesh government. A CM's chamber is being prepared in L block for Naidu. Both secretariats will have separate entrances.

Assembly: The old assembly hall has been given to Seemandhra, whereas the present assembly hall has been handed over to Telangana.

Police chief's office: Telangana has got the present DGP office. Seemandhra's director general of police (DGP) will sit in the adjacent CID building.

Employees: Most of the 12 lakh employees (some posts vacant), including the police force of the united state government, will continue to serve in their positions at the zonal, district and below levels. All-India service (IAS, IPS, IFS) officers, the staff of the state secretariat and offices of heads of departments in Hyderabad have to be distributed between the two states. Final orders are awaited. Around 9800 employees of the secretariat and HoD offices will serve the Telangana government. The Centre has ordered 44 IAS and 31 IPS to work for Telangana.

Finances: Telangana would acquire a surplus budget, while Seemandhra would begin with a deficit of about Rs 14, 500 crore.