New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 19, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Oct 19, 2019

National Film Awards 2018: Sridevi, Vinod Khanna honoured

National Film Awards 2018: While Baahubali 2 emerged as Best Popular Film, Sridevi won Best Actress Award posthumously for Mom. Dadasaheb Phalke Award was conferred on Vinod Khanna.

bollywood Updated: Apr 13, 2018 14:27 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
National Film Awards 2018: Sridevi and Vinod Khanna posthumously won important awards.
National Film Awards 2018: Sridevi and Vinod Khanna posthumously won important awards.

At the 65th National Film Awards, announced in New Delhi on Friday, actors Sridevi and Vinod Khanna were honoured posthumously even as regional cinema was celebrated for its rich content and brave themes. Bollywood icon Sridevi, who died in Dubai in February this year, won the National Film Award for Best Actress for revenge drama MOM while Vinod Khanna was honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Award almost a year after he passed away. Assamese film Village Rockstars was adjudged the Best Film while Rajkummar Rao and Pankaj Tripathi-starrer Newton won the award for Best Hindi Film. Tripathi also won a Special Mention for his performance in the film.

Jayaraj was announced as the winner of Best Director Award for the Malayalam film Bhayanakam. The best actor recognition went to Riddhi Sen for the Bengali film Nagarkirtan. Baahubali: The Conclusion won many awards including the best popular film providing wholesome entertainment. The 10-member jury was headed by filmmaker Shekhar Kapur.

The award ceremony for the 65th National Film Awards will be held on May 3, 2018. The National Film Awards will be presented by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Here are updates from the 65th National Film Awards.

1.20 pm: Here is the complete list of winners at the 65th National Film Awards.

1.10 pm: Pankaj Tripathi on getting a Special Mention at 65th National Film Awards, “I am absolutely delighted. I had no idea I was even in the running. It feels amazing to know that the whole country thought my role in Newton was one of my best.”

12.55 pm: Taapsee Pannu has shared her happiness at Ghazi winning Best Telugu film, “This is the third time I have had the opportunity to be a part of a National Award Winning film. Even though I had a special appearance in the film, it was personally a very satisfying part for me as an actor. I’m ecstatic with the news about the film winning the National Award Honour.”

12.45 pm: Mom director Ravi Udayawar on Sridevi winning the Best Actress Award: “She deserves it. I’m really happy, it’s a great news for me because it was our film. She had done a fabulous job. We all are missing her now.”

12.35 pm: Vinod Khanna conferred with Dadasaheb Phalke Award posthumously. Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Director goes to Pampally for Sinjar. Morkhya is adjudged the Best Children’s Film. Best Film on Environment Conservation is Irada and Best Film on Social Issues is Aalorukkam.

12.33 pm: Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment is Baahubali 2 (Telugu).

12.31 pm: Best Playback Singer(Female): Sasha Trupati (Vaan) and Best Playback Singer (Male) is Yesudas.

12.32 pm: Best Film is the Assamese film, Village Rockstars. Best Child Artist Award goes to Bhanita Das for Village Rockstars.

12.30 pm: Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film for National Integration goes to Marathi film, Dhappa.

12.27 pm: The winner of the Best Original Screenplay award isThondimuthalum Driksakshiyum and the winner for Best Adapted Screenplay is the Malayalam film, Bhayanakam. The film won Best Cinematography as well.

12.26 pm: Best Supporting Actor goes to Fahad Fazil for Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum and the Best Supporting Actress is Divya Dutta for Irada.

12.25 pm: Sridevi gets Best Actress Award for Mom posthumously.

12.20 pm: Special jury award goes to Bengali film Nagarkirtan. Best Actor Award goes to Riddhi Sen for Nagarkirtan.

12.10 pm: Baahubali 2 also gets the award for special effects. Special jury award goes to Bengali film Nagarkirtan

12.05pm: Baahubali 2 is the best action film at National Film Awards.

12.02pm: Best Hindi film is Newton at National Film Awards.

12 pm: Best Original Screenplay:Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum, Best Adapted Screenplay: Bhayanakam, Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam, Best Makeup Artist: Nagarkirtan and Ram Rajak, Best Costume: Nagarkirtan, Govinda Mandal, Best Production Design: Take Off and Santhosh Raman, Best Editing: Village Rockstar, Rima Das, Best Sound Design: Walking With The Wind, Sanath George and Justin Jose, Best Audiography: Village Rockstar, Mallika Das, Best Background Score: AR Rahman for MOM, Best Lyrics: Muthuratna for March 22, Best Music Direction and Songs: AR Rahman, Katru Veliyidai.

11.58am: Hindi films try too hard to be everything, they can’t compete with regional films, says Shekhar Kapur. Best Action Director: Abbas Ali Moghul (Baahubali-The Conclusion) and Best Choreography: Toilet-Ek Prem Katha (Gori tu lath maar) - Ganesh Acharya.

11.55 am: Best Regional films -- Best Bengali Film: Mayurakshi, Best Assamese Film: Ishu, Best Tamil Film: To Let, Best Telugu Film: Ghazi, Best Malayalam Film: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum, Best Kannada Film: Hebbettu Ramakka, Best Hindi Film: Newton, Best Ladhaki Film: Walking With The Wind, Best Jasari Film : Sinjar, Best Tulu Film: Paddayi, Best Odiya Film: Hello Arsi, Best Marathi Film: Kachcha Limbu

11.53am: Pankaj Tripathi get a special mention for Newton at National Film Awards. In the same category, Marathi Film, Morkhya; Oriya Film, Hello Mirror and Malayalam actor Parvathy, for Take Off were also awarded.

11.50 am: Chairman of the jury Shekhar Kapoor says he’s surprised by the standard of regional cinema in India.

Watch National Film Awards LIVE

The 65th National Film Awards were announced on Friday by the jury, headed by renowned filmmaker Shekhar Kapur. The 10-member-panel comprises screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, actress Gautami Tadimalla, Kannada director P Sheshadri, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey.

The award for Best Actor in 2017 went to Akshay Kumar for Rustom. Malayalam actress Surabhi Lakshmi won the Best Actress award for her role in Minnaminungu. Sonam Kapoor got a special mention for her portrayal of air stewardess Neerja Bhanot in Neerja. Zaira Wasim won the Best Supporting Actor award for her role in Dangal.

First Published: Apr 13, 2018 12:14 IST

top news