Dakha bypoll: Seven candidates poll fewer votes than NOTA

Hindustan Times, Ludhiana | By, Ludhiana
Oct 24, 2019 11:23 PM IST

As many as 642 voters opted for NOTA in the constituency

The Dakha bypoll brought a humiliating defeat for seven out of the total 11 candidates as the votes polled in their support were even less than those in favour of None of the Above (NOTA).

HT Image
HT Image

As many as 642 voters opted for NOTA in the constituency.

We're now on WhatsApp. Click to join.

Independent candidate Gurjeet Singh failed to even reach the triple-figure, managing only 89 votes. Independent candidates Gurdeep Singh Kahlon secured 226 votes, Joginder Singh Vegal 256, Simardeep Singh 340, Baldev Singh alias Dev Sarabha got 397 and Harbans Singh Jalal gets only 140 votes.

Comedian Jai Parkash Jain aka Titu Baniya, who had managed to secure 2,726 votes from Ludhiana during the Lok Sabha elections this year, could only get 535 votes this time.

In the 2017 Punjab assembly elections, 981 voters opted for NOTA and seven candidates had polled less than NOTA.

In 2017, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Jawinder Singh had got 652 votes only. Kulwant Singh of Apna Punjab Party had managed to get only 267 votes, while former MLA Tarsem Jodhan had been restricted to only 888 votes.

"Exciting news! Hindustan Times is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!

    Tarsem Singh Deogan is a senior reporter at Ludhiana. He has 16 years of experience in journalism. He has covered all beats and now focuses on crime reporting.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, October 01, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals