Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

Tripura election results: Tipra Motha’s Sanjoy Manik wins from Karbook

Mar 02, 2023 12:54 PM IST

Karbook is a key constituency reserved for Scheduled Tribes. As of the latest trends in the key constituency, the Tipra Motha party’s Sanjoy Manik Tripura is leading by nearly 5,000 votes while BJP, Congress-CPI(M) alliance trail behind.

While the Bharatiya Janata Party and its allies are set to come back power in Tripura, the party faced defeat at the hands of Tipra Motha party on Thursday in the Karbook constituency, a reserved seat for Scheduled Tribes. Karbook was one of the key battles fought in the election where all the parties fielded their candidates, however, the Tipra Motha party’s Sanjoy Manik Tripura remained ahead of others since the early trends. The BJP had this time, fielded candidate Ashim Kumar Tripura who lost to Manik by a margin of 4,447 votes. Check Tripura assembly election result live updates here.

Poll officials sort postal ballots to begin the counting of votes for the Assembly elections at a centre in Tripura on Thursday(PTI)

Meanwhile, Congress and CPI-M, the old rivals who are contesting the poll in an alliance this time, placed their bet on Priyamani Debbarma of CPI-M in the three-cornered contest who managed nearly 7,000 votes and stood third.

Also Read| Tripura assembly elections 2023: Key seats, candidates to watch out for

Trinamool Congress, which fielded Milton Chakma from the seat, remained out of the contest with only a few hundred votes in their pocket.

For the Karbook seat, the BJP replaced incumbent MLA Burba Mohan Tripura, who defeated Priyamani Debbarma of CPI-M in the 2018 assembly election by less than 800 votes, with Ashim Kumar Tripura.

In Tripura, a three-way contest emerged on the cards this election between the BJP, Congress-CPI(M) which joined hands this time to defeat the BJP, and Tipra Motha, seen as a kingmaker in case of a hung assembly scenario.

The election in the state was held on February 16 that recorded 89.95 percent voting including 2.19 percent votes polled through postal ballots.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now